Preview: Must-win game for England, New Zealand

Posted by:
Published: Friday, September 28, 2012, 15:54 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Preview: Must-win game for England, NZ

Pallekele, Sep 28: England and New Zealand are in the same boat. Having lost their opening Super Eight games, they have to win to keep their ICC World Twenty20 2012 semi-final chances alive. They face off here on Saturday afternoon.

It was heartbreak for New Zealand against Sri Lanka in the Super Over. For England, Eoin Morgan played a superb innings but fell short by 15 runs against West Indies in Group 1.

England, the defending champions and New Zealand will be hoping to get their campaigns back on track.

A loss for either of the teams will push them towards the exit.

England look better of the two. However, New Zealand will again look at Brendon McCullum for a big knock. England bowlers will have to be wary of McCullum.

The worrying sign for England is the poor form of their opener Craig Kieswetter. He has so far scored two ducks in three matches. Whether the team management will persist with him or drop the wicketkeeper is to be seen.

Since it is a crucial game for the Stuart Broad-led side and it would be better to pick an additional batsman and Alex Hales can take up wicketkeeping duty.

Tim Southee is the main bowler for the Kiwis. He has so far claimed five wickets. McCullum leads the batting charts with 180 runs including a century.

It is a must-win game for both teams. Who will come on top?


England: Stuart Broad (captain), Jonathan Bairstow, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Craig Kieswetter (wicketkeeper), Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Graeme Swann, Luke Wright.

New Zealand: Ross Taylor (Captain), Martin Guptill, Rob Nicol, Brendon McCullum (wicketkeeper), Kane Williamson, BJ Watling (wicketkeeper), James Franklin, Jacob Oram, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori, Kyle Mills, Doug Bracewell, Tim Southee, Ronnie Hira, Adam Milne.

Umpires: Simon Taufel (Australia) and Asad Rauf (Pakistan)

Third umpire: Steve Davis (Australia)

Fourth umpire: Aleem Dar (Pakistan)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (India)

Match starts at 3.30 PM IST. Also playing on Saturday, at 7.30 PM IST, Sri Lanka Vs West Indies

Catch live ball by ball commentary, regular updates, reports here on www.thatscricket.com


Write Comments