Preview: Sri Lanka, West Indies eye semis

Posted by:
Published: Friday, September 28, 2012, 15:33 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Preview: Lanka, West Indies eye semis

Pallekele, Sep 28: An exciting battle in on the cards as hosts Sri Lanka face West Indies in a Group 1 Super Eight match at the ICC World Twenty20 2012 here on Saturday night.

Both teams have quality spinners, including some mystery in their slow bowling options. If Sri Lanka possess Ajantha Mendis, West Indies have Sunil Narine.

It should be a cracker of a contest between these two outfits who started their Super Eight campaigns with wins. Sri Lanka won a thrilling clash against New Zealand in the Super Over while West Indies survived a blistering innings from Eoin Morgan on Thursday.

When West Indies play, one has to mention the name of Chris Gayle. His explosive batting form is a big boost for the team. He has already registered two half centuries and with that the big sixes have also kept flowing from his willow.

It is a mouth-watering prospect of watching Lasith Malinga going at full tilt at Gayle on Saturday night. Will Malinga be meted out at the same treatment as other bowlers or will the Sri Lankan paceman get the better of Gayle?

Mendis had a bad game against New Zealand, going for 48 runs in his four. Will he bounce back or will the men from the Caribbean add more misery to him?

There are so many mini battles to be won in this Super Saturday skirmish. Tillakaratne Dilshan, captain Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews and Thisara Perera will be the ones entrusted to take their team forward in the batting department.

How will the hosts tackle Narine's mystery? The Island batsmen are known to be one of the best players of spin. Will they be able to hit out against Narine?

A win for one of the teams here could well guarantee a spot in the semi-finals.

It should live upto the expectations. Watch out.


West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Dwayne Bravo, Samuel Badree, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Fidel Edwards, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Akila Dananjaya, Shaminda Eranga, Rangana Herath, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Jeewan Mendis, Dilshan Munaweera, Thisara Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Lahiru Thirimanne.

Umpires: Steve Davis (Australia) and Aleem Dar (Pakistan)

Third umpire: Simon Taufel (Australia)

Fourth umpire: Asad Rauf (Pakistan)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (India)

Match starts at 7.30 PM IST. Also playing on Saturday, at 3.30 PM IST, England Vs New Zealand

Catch live ball by ball commentary, regular updates, reports here on www.thatscricket.com


Write Comments