Challenger Series begins Sep 29 in Rajkot

Published: Saturday, September 29, 2012, 13:18 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Challenger Series begins Sep 29

Rajkot, Sep 29: While there are quite a few in the race to grab the slots vacated by the likes of Rahul Dravid and VVS Laxman in India's Test squad, Tamil Nadu's middle-order mainstay S Badrinath said he is waiting for an opportunity to get back into the national squad.

"It is very tough to fill the place vacated by VVS Laxman and Rahul Dravid. I am waiting for chances and would grab the opportunities to get back in the national squad," said Badrinath, who will be captaining India ‘A' during the Challenger Series, starting on Saturday.

Badrinath expressed confidence of putting up a good show at the three-team event that he said might help him get back into the Indian team. "The Challenger Trophy is a premier domestic tournament and I am looking forward to give my best to secure a place in the national side," Badrinath side.

The right-handed batsman said he was waiting for his turn and will exploit the opportunities in the 50-overs-a-side event, where India ‘B' and Bengal are the other two teams.

India ‘A' look balanced on paper having batsmen like Ajinkya Rahane, Robin Uthappa, Dinesh Karthik, Yusuf Pathan and Manish Pandey, apart from the skipper. Pacers Ishant Sharma, Parvinder Awana and two left-arm spinners Iqbal Abdulla and Pragyan Ojha would be handling the bowling department.

India ‘B' led by Cheteshwar Pujara, too, have a combination of young and experienced players.

"We have a balanced side consisting of young and seasoned players. I hope the players would give their best," said Pujara.

The 24-year-old right-handed batsman said he does not feel burdened by the responsibility of leading the team. "I have been captain over the last two years in many domestic tournaments. I have good experience as a skipper," he insisted. The first match will be played between Bengal and India ‘A', while the final is on October 2.

Schedule (All matches start at 2.30 PM IST)

September 29: India A Vs Bengal

September 30: India A Vs India B

October 1: India B Vs Bengal

October 2: Final


India A: S. Badrinath (capt.), Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Robin Uthappa, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Ishant Sharma, Parvinder Awana, Abhimanyu Mithun, Pragyan Ojha, Iqbal Abdulla, Harshal Patel and Udit Birla.

India B: Cheteshwar Pujara (capt.), Murali Vijay, S. Anirudh, Kedar Jadhav, Robin Bist, Stuart Binny, Ravindra Jadeja, B. Aparajith, Praveen Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Munaf Patel, Harmeet Singh, Rohit Motwani and Sandeep Sharma.

Bengal: Wriddhiman Saha (captain), Jayojit Basu, Debabrata Das, Subhomoy Das, Shreevats Goswami (wicketkeeper), Sandipan Das, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Iresh Saxena, Alok Sharma, Sourav Sarkar, Ravikant Singh, Writam Porel, Veer Pratap Singh, Sayan Mondal, Arnab Nandi.


Write Comments