Wright shines in England's victory

Posted by:
Updated: Saturday, September 29, 2012, 18:43 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Wright shines in England's victory

Pallekele, Sep 29: Luke Wright hit a 43-ball 76 to steer England to a six-wicket victory over New Zealand in the Super Eight stage of the ICC World Twenty20 2012 here on Saturday. England successfully chased a target of 149 in 18.5 overs.


This win has kept the defending champions' semi-final chances alive. For New Zealand, with two losses in Super Eight, their last-four hopes are almost gone unless other results go in their favour and net run rate comes into play. Kiwis will play West Indies in their last Super Eight game while England have a game against hosts Sri Lanka.

Eoin Morgan once again contributed runs with a 31-ball 30. Wright hit five fours and five sixes in his knock. Daniel Vettori was most economical bowler for the Kiwis with figures of 1/20 in four overs.

Earlier, Steven Finn took three wickets as New Zealand made 148/6 in 20 overs. James Franklin was the top scorer for the Kiwis with 50 off 33 balls.

Toss Report

New Zealand captain Ross Taylor and opted to bat first.

It is a must-win game for both teams. England lost to West Indies while New Zealand were beaten in the Super Over by Sri Lanka in the Super Eights first games.

Jacob Oram is not playing today as he is not well. Doug Bracewell comes in. England made two chances, dropping Samit Patel and Jade Dernbach. Paceman Tim Bresnan and Danny Briggs, the left-arm spinner. It is World T20 debut for Briggs who has played one T20I before.

Playing XIs

England: Stuart Broad (captain), Jonathan Bairstow, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Craig Kieswetter (wicketkeeper), Eoin Morgan, Graeme Swann, Luke Wright.

New Zealand: Ross Taylor (Captain), Martin Guptill, Rob Nicol, Brendon McCullum (wicketkeeper), Kane Williamson, James Franklin, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori, Kyle Mills, Doug Bracewell, Tim Southee.

Umpires: Simon Taufel (Australia) and Asad Rauf (Pakistan)

Third umpire: Steve Davis (Australia)

Fourth umpire: Aleem Dar (Pakistan)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (India)

Match starts at 3.30 PM IST. Also playing on Saturday, at 7.30 PM IST, Sri Lanka Vs West Indies


Story first published:  Saturday, September 29, 2012, 15:10 [IST]
Write Comments