Sri Lanka thrash West Indies

Posted by:
Updated: Sunday, September 30, 2012, 13:43 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sri Lanka thrash West Indies

Pallekele, Sep 29: Sri Lanka displayed their most dominant show so far in the ICC World Twenty20 2012 to thrash pre-tournament favourites West Indies by nine wickets in the Super Eight stage here on Saturday night.

It was expected to be a close contest but once Chris Gayle failed to play his big innings, West Indies stuttered to a below par total and the hosts did not have problems in overhauling that. The target of 130 was never threatening and captain Mahela Jayawardene led the chase superbly to remain unbeaten on 65 as Sri Lanka finished with 130/1 in 15.2 overs.

Two wins in as many matches in Group 1 of Super Eight has moved Sri Lanka closer to a semi-final spot. They are almost assured of a last-four berth while West Indies, England and New Zealand are the other three battling for the second slot form this group.

England, having beaten New Zealand earlier in the day are also still in with a chance. West Indies, with one win under their belt will play New Zealand in their last game. Sri Lanka and England face off on the same day, October 1.

Toss Report

West Indies won the toss and chose to bat first against Sri Lanka here on Saturday night.

Akila Dananjaya, who was injured in last game has not recovered and his place is taken by Rangana Herath in Sri Lankan XI. West Indies brought in Fidel Edwards for Samuel Badree.

Playing XIs:

West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Chris Gayle, Johnson Charles, Marlon Samuels, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Ravi Rampaul, Kieron Pollard, Dinesh Ramdin (wicketkeeper), Fidel Edwards.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (wicketkeeper), Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Jeevan Mendis, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath.

Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan) and Steve Davis (Australia)

Third umpire: Simon Taufel (Australia)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (India)


Story first published:  Saturday, September 29, 2012, 23:23 [IST]
Write Comments