Preview: Can Gayle take West Indies to semis?

Posted by:
Published: Sunday, September 30, 2012, 16:17 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Preview: Crunch time for West Indies

Pallekele, Sep 30: West Indies, one of the pre-tournament favourites are battling for survival in Super Eight of ICC World Twenty20 2012 and they have to win against New Zealand on Monday for semi-final passage.

A loss to Sri Lanka on Saturday, has made things tricky for West Indies. If they have to think of advancing to last-four a win is must against New Zealand. In their first Super Eight game, West Indies had beaten England.

On Monday night, the Super Eight Group 1 matches will be completed and we could head for an interesting finish.

There are several scenarios that could emerge on Monday. The second game of the day is between Sri Lanka and England at 7.30 PM IST.

If West Indies manage to win and England defeat Sri Lanka later in the night, then we will have three teams tied with two victories apiece. New Zealand would be eliminated with all-loss record.

In such a case, Sri Lanka who enjoy a better net run rate than West Indies and England will easily top the group. As of now, the hosts' net run rate is +1.029. England's is -0.115 and West Indies' -0.621.

We could have another scenario if Sri Lanka beat England and New Zealand win over West Indies. Then, Sri Lanka with an all-win record in the group, tops with six points. England, New Zealand and West Indies will all have two points apiece. Again, we will have to calculate net run rate for the second team to play in semi-finals.

On paper, West Indies appear the more stronger team. They would want to win big to ensure a better net run rate than England in case of teams ending up with same points.

Again, if one man can do it for West Indies, it is Chris Gayle.


West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Dwayne Bravo, Samuel Badree, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Fidel Edwards, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith.

New Zealand: Ross Taylor (captain), Martin Guptill, Rob Nicol, Brendon McCullum (wicketkeeper), Kane Williamson, BJ Watling (wicketkeeper), James Franklin, Jacob Oram, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori, Kyle Mills, Doug Bracewell, Tim Southee, Ronnie Hira, Adam Milne.

Umpires: Asad Rauf (Pakistan) and Aleem Dar (Pakistan)

Third umpire: Simon Taufel (Australia)

Fourth umpire: Steve Davis (England)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (India)

Match starts at 3.30 PM IST. Also playing on Monday, at 7.30 PM IST, Sri Lanka Vs England

Catch live ball by ball commentary, regular updates, reports here on www.thatscricket.com


Write Comments