Sri Lanka win, England knocked out

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, October 2, 2012, 11:03 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pallekele, Oct 1: Lasith Malinga took five wickets as Sri Lanka defeated England by 19 runs to enter the semi-finals of ICC World Twenty20 2012 on Monday night. West Indies joined the hosts from Group 1 to reach last-four stage. Defending champions England were knocked out.

Sri Lanka win, England knocked out


Sri Lanka topped Group 1 in Super Eights with an all-win record, securing six points from three games. West Indies were second with two victories. England had one success out of three while New Zealand lost all their matches.

Chasing 170, England were rattled very early when Malinga took three wickets in one over. In the third over of the innings, he first dismissed Luke Wright off the third ball and then scalped Jonathan Bairstow and Alex Hales off successive deliveries (fifth and sixth). This was his opening over and figures read 1-0-3-3. He had to wait till the 14th over for his next spell. His hat-trick ball was played out by Jos Buttler.

Samit Patel (48-ball 67) played a lone hand and in the end, Graeme Swann (20-ball 34) played some big shots but Sri Lanka were always in control of the game. Finally they ended with 150/9 in 20 overs.

Earlier, Sri Lanka posted 169/6 in 20 overs against England in their Super Eight game in the ICC World Twenty20 2012 here on Monday night.

Captain Stuart Broad took three wickets for England. Swann had two. However, Sri Lanka, with a collective batting effort have good score. Mahela Jayawardene topscored with 42.

Toss Report

England, who have to win this game to reach semi-finals, won the toss and have opted to chase against Sri Lanka in Group 1's final Super Eight game of ICC World Twenty20 2012 here on Monday night. The big team news from Sri Lanka is Kumar Sangakkara is captaining the side. However regular skipper Mahela Jayawardene is playing but after having lost three tosses, handed over captaincy to Sangakkara for this game.

England made three changes. Wicketkeeper Craig Kieswetter was dropped and Jonathan Bairstow will take up the keeping gloves. Ravi Bopara gets his first game. Samit Patel and Jade Dernbach came in for Danny Briggs and Tim Bresnan. For Sri Lanka, Akila Dananjaya comes in for Rangana Herath.

West Indies have kept their semi-final hopes alive with a thrilling Super Over win over New Zealand a few minutes earlier. Now the task for England is to win and join, most likely Sri Lanka in last-four from Group 1. A Sri Lanka win means the hosts and West Indies go through.

Playing XIs

Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Akila Dananjaya, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne.

England: Stuart Broad (captain), Jonathan Bairstow (wicketkeeper), Ravi Bopara, Samit Patel, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Eoin Morgan, Graeme Swann, Luke Wright.

Umpires: Simon Taufel (Australia) and Steve Davis (Australia)

Third umpire: Asad Rauf (Pakistan)

Fourth umpire: Aleem Dar (Pakistan)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (India)


Story first published:  Monday, October 1, 2012, 18:11 [IST]
Write Comments