Pakistan win; Australia in semis

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, October 2, 2012, 19:22 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pakistan win; Australia in semis

Colombo, Oct 2: Australia lost their first match in the ICC World Twenty20 2012 but managed to book a semi-final berth here on Tuesday. Pakistan won by 32 runs to keep their chances of last-four alive. It all now depends on India-South Africa match later tonight. India have to win with a better run rate to knock Pakistan out. South Africa have now been eliminated.


Pakistan Innings Report

Left-hander Nasir Jamshed hit a 46-ball 55 to help Pakistan reach 149/6 in 20 overs in their last Super Eight match of the ICC World Twenty20 2012 here at the R Premadasa Stadium on Tuesday afternoon. Mitchell Starc was the pick of the Australian bowlers with 3/20 in four overs.

Pakistan, who have to win this game for semi-final chance, lost openers Mohammad Hafeez and Imran Nazir early. However, Jamshed, who has dropped on zero by Glenn Maxwell off Starc, took advantage of that chance and made a fine half century. He and Karman Akmal (32) put on 79 runs in 9.1 overs for the third wicket.

Again, Australia opened the bowling with the left-ram spin of Xavier Doherty. But he was not as effective as the last match against South Africa. He finished with 1/27 in four overs. Shane Watson took one catch and a wicket for 23 runs off four.

Fast bowler Pat Cummins was expensive today. He went for 42 for his one scalp.

Toss Report

Australia captain George Bailey won the toss and sent Pakistan to bat.

Australia have retained the same XI from last game while Pakistan brought in Abdul Razzaq in place of Yasir Arafat. Pakistan have to win this game to have a chance of progressing to semi-finals. However, even if they lose and South Africa beat India later today then it will come down to net run rate as to who will go through along with Australia.

Playing XIs

Australia: George Bailey (captain), Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Brad Hogg, Michael Hussey, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White.

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Imran Nazir, Nasir Jamshed, Kamran Akmal (wicketkeeper), Shoaib Malik, Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Afridi, Umar Akmal, Saeed Ajmal, Raza Hasan, Umar Gul.

Umpires: Ian Gould and Richard Kettleborough (both England)

Third umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)


Story first published:  Tuesday, October 2, 2012, 15:11 [IST]
Write Comments