For India: Goodbye World T20, welcome CLT20

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, October 4, 2012, 15:34 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

For India: Goodbye WT20,  welcome CLT20

Bangalore, Oct 4: So, India did not win the ICC World Twenty20 2012. They were not expected to. India definitely did not have the team to bring home the silverware. So what if they did not triumph in Sri Lanka, they can atone for that in South Africa in a week's time.

CLT20 Schedule; CLT20 Squads

It is time to forget World T20 and welcome Champions League Twenty20 2012 in South Africa. India's national team might have failed in ICC event but their players have a lot to achieve in CLT20 from October 9 to 23.

Indian cricket fans will soon put behind WT20 debacle and are set to cheer every hit from India's four Indian Premier League (IPL) team that will feature in CLT20.

IPL 5 champions Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Delhi Daredevils (DD) and defending champions of CLT20 Mumbai Indians (MI) will mount a serious challenge to complete India's hat-trick. CSK triumphed in 2010 and then MI in 2011. The inaugural edition in 2009 was won by Australia's New South Wales (NSW).

Though a country's unsuccessful bid at a global event cannot comfort the pains of the players with a club trophy, CLT20 is a significant tournament to at least put the smiles back on the fans.

Ten players out of the 15 who did duty for India in Sri Lanka, will be seen in action in South Africa. Skipper MS Dhoni will again lead CSK while opener Gautam Gambhir will be in-charge of KKR.

Dhoni, who has come under severe attack for his leadership in Sri Lanka, could rediscover his Midas touch.

Signs are good for all players that they are entering CLT20 in the same format mode. Unlike when players have struggled to adjust to new format, these 10 Indian cricketers will certainly be benefitted as like others.

However, they might take a bit of time to get used to the pitches in South Africa after playing on spinning and slow tracks of Sri Lanka.

Will the fortunes of Indian players change with a new place in the same format or will it be the same flop show for them?

We will know the answer in the next two weeks.

Here is the list of 10 Indian players who were part of World T20 and now head to South Africa for CLT20

MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings)

Gautam Gambhir (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Virender Sehwag (Delhi Daredevils)

R Ashwin (Chennai Super Kings)

Lakshmipathy Balaji (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Manoj Tiwary (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Harbhajan Singh (Mumbai Indians)

Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians)

Suresh Raina (Chennai Super Kings)

Irfan Pathan (Delhi Daredevils)


Story first published:  Thursday, October 4, 2012, 15:32 [IST]
Write Comments