ICC T20 rankings: Champions Windies claim 2nd spot

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, October 9, 2012, 14:49 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

ICC T20 rankings: Windies claim 2nd spot

Dubai, Oct 8: After being crowned T20 champions, West Indies have jumped to the second spot in ICC T20 rankings that was announced on Monday, after their 36-run win over Sri Lanka, which is headed by Sri Lanka despite their loss to Darren Sammy's XI, while India is placed third in the team rankings.

Having entered the tournament with a No 7 ranking, West Indies went on to claim the second spot, as they are placed above India in the ICC T20 team rankings.

While India are placed third, Pakistan are placed in the sixth spot after their loss to Sri Lanka in the semifinal.

Meanwhile, the teams England, South Africa and Australia have been placed fourth, fifth and seventh in ICC Team T20 rankings, atfer their ouster from the World T20 during the Super Eights stage.

ICC T20 Team Rankings

   Team  Points 
 Sri Lanka 
 1524    127
 West Indies 
 1450    121
 India  1322    120
 England  1647
 South Africa
 1526    117
 Pakistan  2088    116
 Australia  1615    108
 New Zealand 
 1261     97
 Bangladesh   597     85
 Ireland   659     82
 Zimbabwe   306     44

The team rankings have also reflected on players' performance, as Marlon Samuels, Sunil Narine of West Indies have jumped 20 places in the batting and bowling rankings respectively.

Samuels' 56-ball 78 was placed at 18th in the rankings for batsmen, while he was ranked 9th in the all-rounders' list. With an amazing performance on Sunday, Samuels recorded his career-best rankings in all the three categories (batting, bowling and allround rankings)

New Zealand's Brendon McCullum heads the ICC T20 rankings for batsmen with 830, as Chris Gayle and Shane Watson (Australia) are placed second and third with 810, 799 points respectively. While India's Suresh Raina and Virat Kohli are the only Indians

ICC Player Rankings (Batsmen)

Brendon McCullum (NZ)     830

Chris Gayle  (WI)               810

Shane Watson (Aus)          799

Mahela Jayawardene  (SL)  775

Suresh Raina  (Ind)           741

David Warner  (Aus)          714

Eion Morgan  (Eng)           712

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)   699

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)    687

Martin Guptill (NZ)            686

Virat Kohli (Ind)                686

ICC T20 rankings (Bowlers)

Saeed Ajmal (Pak)            770

Ajantha Mendis (SL)         762

Graeme Swann (Eng)       750

Nathan McCullum (NZ)     690

Johan Botha (SA)             674

Shane Watson  (Aus)       665

Shahid Afridi  (Pak)          656

Mohammad Hafeez (Pak) 655

Abdur Razzaq  (Pak)        654

Dale Steyn (SA)              652

ICC T20 Rankings (All-rounders)

Shane Watson (Aus)                531

Mohammad Hafeez (Pak)         350

Shahid Afridi (Pak)                   294

Shakib al Hasan (Ban)             270

Chris Gayle (WI)                      266

David Hussey  (Aus)                241

Darren Bravo  (WI)                 238

Jacques Kallis (SA)                  234

Marlon Samuels (WI)              229

Angelo Mathews (SL)              229


Story first published:  Monday, October 8, 2012, 15:50 [IST]
Write Comments