Kohli, Raina named in ICC World T20 team

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, October 9, 2012, 10:02 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kohli, Raina named in ICC World T20 team

Dubai, Oct 8: International Cricket Council (ICC) has named the team of the tournament which includes India's Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina according to an ICC release.

ICC has named Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene as the captain of the WOlrd T20 team, while there are five players inlcuding Mahela, from Sri Lanka and West Indies put together.

Ironically, a day after Mahela Jayawardene stepped down as T20 skipper, he has been named the skipper for the ICC T20 team on Monday.

Overall, three players from Sri Lanka, two from West Indies, and a few players from Australia, India, England, New Zealand and Pakistan were a part of the 12-man squad.

While nine women cricketers who were a part of Australia and England teams that played the ICC World T20 final (Women) have been named in the Women's T20 team as England's Charlotte Edwards has been selected to lead the team, after she was named the women's player of the tournament.

ICC World T20 2012: Men's team of the tournament

Chris Gayle (WI)

Shane Watson (Aus)

Virat Kohli (Ind)

Mahela Jayawardene (SL) (C)

Luke Wright (Eng)

Brendon McCullum (NZ) (wk)

Marlon Samuels (WI)

Lasith Malinga (SL)

Mitchell Starc (Aus)

Saeed Ajmal (Pak)

Ajantha Mendis (SL)

Suresh Raina (Ind) - 12th Man

ICC World T20 2012: Women's Team of the Tournament

Charlotte Edwards (Eng) - Captain

Meg Lanning (Aus)

Poonam Raut (Ind)

Laura Marsh (Eng)

Sarah Taylor (Eng) - Wicket Keeper

Lisa Sthalekar (Aus)

Stafanie Taylor (WI)

Julie Hunter (Aus)

Ellyse Perry (Aus)

Katherine Brunt (Eng)

Erin Bermingham (NZ)

Jess Cameron (Aus) - 12th Player

The panel that selected the above XIs

Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager - Cricket)

Rex Clementine (Cricket journalist - Sri Lanka)

Tony Hill (Member of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires)

Ranjan Madugalle (ICC Chief Match Referee and former Sri Lanka captain)

Sanjay Manjrekar (Former India cricketer and ESS commentator)

Melanie Jones (Former Australia cricketer and ESS commentator)


Story first published:  Monday, October 8, 2012, 16:17 [IST]
Write Comments