VVS Laxman to captain Hyderabad in Ranji Trophy

Posted by:
Published: Sunday, October 21, 2012, 15:32 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Laxman to lead Hyderabad in Ranji Trophy

Bangalore, Oct 21: VVS Laxman, who retired from international cricket recently, has been named captain of Hyderabad team for their 2012-13 Ranji Trophy season opening match against Punjab in Mohali from November 2.

The Hyderabad Cricket Association (HCA) announced the decision on Saturday. They picked a 15-man team to be led by the 37-year-old. DB Ravi Teja has been chosen as vice-captain. India left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha is also part of the squad.

Hyderabad are in Group A. When Laxman announced his retirement on August 18, he had mentioned that he would continue to play Ranji Trophy.

Former Indian spinner Sunil Joshi is the coach of Hyderabad while another former India bowler Noel David is fielding coach.

Punjab will be led by Harbhajan Singh and will also feature Yuvraj Singh. It should be an exciting match with all these stars.

Hyderabad Squad: VVS Laxman (captain), DB Ravi Teja (vice-captain), Akshath Reddy, Hanuma Vihari, Arjun Yadav, Syed Ahmed Quadri, Bavanaka Sandeep, Ibrahim Khaleel, Pragyan Ojha, Ashish Reddy, Mohammed Khader, Anwar Ahmed, Pagadala Naidu, Abhinav Kumar, Vishal Sharma. Coach: Sunil Joshi. Fielding coach: Noel David. Manager: Ravinder Reddy.


Write Comments