Vinay Kumar to captain Karnataka in Ranji Trophy

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, October 25, 2012, 14:31 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Vinay Kumar to lead Karnataka

Bangalore, Oct 25: India fast bowler R Vinay Kumar has been retained as Karnataka captain for their Ranji Trophy 2012-13 season opening game against Baroda from November 2 in Baroda.

Vinay, who led the team last year, will once again shoulder the responsibility as he takes charge of a young team. However, Vinay could be unavailable for the game as he is also part of the India A squad which will face England from October 30 in Mumbai.

Karnataka are in Group B with Tamil Nadu, Haryana, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh, Vidarbha, Delhi, Baroda and Odisha.

The Karnataka selectors have announced a 15-man squad which also includes India players Robin Uthappa and Abhimanyu Mithun.

Former Karnataka batsman J Arun Kumar is the batting coach while another state paceman Mansur Ali Khan is bowling coach for this season.

Karnataka squad: R Vinay Kumar (captain), Robin Uthappa, KB Pavan, Ganesh Satish, Manish Pandey, Amit A Verma, Stuart T Binny, Gautham C M (wicketkeeper), Sunil N Raju , Abhimanyu Mithun, KP Appanna, Kunal Kapoor, KL Rahul, Ronit More, SK Moinuddin. Batting Coach: J Arun Kumar. Bowling Coach: Mansur Ali Khan. Manager: Fazal Khaleel. Physio: Jaba Prabhu. Trainer: Shravan. Video Analyst: Santhosh.


Story first published:  Thursday, October 25, 2012, 12:40 [IST]
Write Comments