McDonald to lead Australia A against South Africa

Posted by:
Published: Friday, October 26, 2012, 11:25 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

McDonald to lead Australia A against SA

Melbourne, Oct 26: Andrew McDonald will lead Australia A against South Africa in a three-day match from November 2 at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), the Cricket Australia (CA) National Selection Panel (NSP) announced on Friday. NSP picked an 11-player team.

Commenting on the team, National Selector John Inverarity said: "The NSP looks forward to 77 of Australia's best cricketers being on display between 1-5 November with the Australia A three-day fixture running concurrently with three Bupa Sheffield Shield games. These four games will be highly competitive, full of interest and provide a great opportunity for players to press for national honours later in the season.

"The squad for the First Vodafone Test against South Africa to commence on 9 November will be finalised over the weekend and announced on Monday. The NSP does not intend, at the moment, to include any of the players in this Australia A team in the squad for the First Vodafone Test.

"Phillip Hughes, Rob Quiney, Liam Davis and Alex Doolan are four top-order batsmen who have played well recently and will have an opportunity to impress against the formidable South African pace attack.

"Rob Quiney has been very close to receiving recognition for some time and his sound technique and equable temperament should serve him well as an opener.

"Phillip Hughes has been in pleasing form and showing the benefits of his four month uninterrupted spell with Worcestershire and settling in well with his new team, South Australia.

"Andrew McDonald, Steve Smith, Moises Henriques and Alex Doolan have been in sparkling form recently.

"Following the unfortunate shoulder injury to Jon Holland, Glenn Maxwell has been given the responsibility of being the team's sole spinner. The NSP is very keen for him to develop as a genuine all-rounder.

"John Hastings has made a splendid return from injury, as has Tim Paine, and John will share the new ball with Nathan Coulter-Nile, who impressed with Australia A in England a few months ago, as did Davis. They will be supported by the medium pace of McDonald and Henriques.

"Twelfth man duties will be allotted to a NSW squad member not included in the Bupa Sheffield Shield match in Brisbane," Inverarity said.

The team will assemble in Sydney on Wednesday 31 October and train on Thursday ahead of the match commencing on Friday 2 November.

Centre of Excellence Head Coach Troy Cooley will coach the team, while Stuart Law will be his assistant.

South Africa will play three Tests against Australia. First Test starts on November 9 in Brisbane.

Australia A team: Andrew McDonald (captain), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Liam Davis, Alex Doolan, John Hastings, Moises Henriques, Phillip Hughes, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine, Rob Quiney, Steve Smith


Write Comments