Stars set to light up Ranji Trophy

Posted by:
Updated: Saturday, October 27, 2012, 15:48 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Stars set to light up Ranji Trophy

Bangalore, Oct 27: When Ranji Trophy 2012-13 season kicks off at various venues on November 2, it is bound to attract a lot of eyeballs. For, after a long time, we have star-studded line-ups across the country.

Ranji Trophy 2012-13 Full Schedule

The biggest draw is of course Sachin Tendulkar. The Master Blaster will wear Mumbai jersey after more than two years as he fine tunes his game ahead of the England Test series at home.

Mumbai will be facing Railways at the Wankhede Stadium, the venue where Tendulkar and his Indian team-mates proudly held the 2011 World Cup trophy last April.

Mumbai will also have the services of Zaheer Khan, Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane. The team will be led by former Indian paceman Ajit Agarkar.

On the same day, November 2, Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh will turn up for Punjab against Hyderabad in Mohali. The side will be led by Harbhajan, who, on Friday, was demoted to Grade B in the Board of Control for Cricket in India's (BCCI) annual contracts.

In Mohali, Harbhajan and Yuvraj will have time to catch up with recently retired VVS Laxman as he is in-charge of Hyderabad.

Delhi will be captained by Virender Sehwag against Uttar Pradesh in Ghaziabad. Sehwag will have the company of Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Ishant Sharma and Under-19 World Cup winning captain Unmukt Chand in the squad.

Fast bowler R Vinay Kumar is captain of Karnataka as they face Baroda in an away game. Pathan brothers, Irfan and Yusuf are likely to play for Baroda.

As many as 12 matches are set to commence on November 2. India's premier domestic tournament will see 27 teams divided into three groups, battling it out till January next year.

Here is a list of India's top cricketers who will feature in the opening round of Ranji Trophy 2012-13 matches from November 2 to 5

Sachin Tendulkar

Zaheer Khan

Virender Sehwag

Gautam Gambhir

Virat Kohli

Yuvraj Singh

Harbhajan Singh

Rohit Sharma

Ajinkya Rahane

VVS Laxman

R Vinay Kumar


Story first published:  Saturday, October 27, 2012, 15:05 [IST]
Write Comments