Wade preferred over Haddin for first SA Test

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, October 29, 2012, 11:21 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Australia name 12-man Test squad

Melbourne, Oct 29: Australia have opted for Matthew Wade as the wicketkeeper for the their first Test against South Africa which starts on November 3.

Aus-SA Test Schedule

The Cricket Australia (CA) National Selection Panel (NSP) on Monday announced a 12-player squad to face world number one ranked South Africa in Brisbane.

Australia have picked four fast bowler, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Ben Hilfenhaus and Mitchell Starc. The lone spinner is Nathan Lyon.

Commenting on the team, National Selector John Inverarity said: "The 12 man squad for the first Vodafone Test against South Africa is as many have predicted. Most discussion centred on the wicketkeeping role with both Matthew Wade and Brad Haddin presenting a strong and compelling case for inclusion.

"Matthew came into the Australian ODI team in February and has since acquitted himself especially well."

He added: "He (Wade) kept and batted very well and made a match-defining brilliant century in the second innings of the Third and final Test against West Indies. Since then he has played and gained valuable experience in England, the UAE and Sri Lanka. As a young player, getting better by the month, he is thoroughly deserving of his retention. While Matthew has been retained as the Test 'keeper, Brad remains a player of significant interest."

On the fast bowling slots, Inverarity said: "The last Test match that Australia played, the Third Test in the West Indies last April, included Ryan Harris. Ryan is continuing his rehabilitation from injury and is unavailable. Peter Siddle and James Pattinson have recovered especially well from the injuries that rendered them unavailable for that last Test in West Indies. In fact, they have been enjoying an ideal preparation for the first Vodafone Test in Brisbane having played in three Bupa Sheffield Shield games with another one to come later this week.

"The squad will assemble in Brisbane on Monday and will have three days of intensive preparation together to be ready for the beginning of this long awaited series starting on 9 November," Inverarity said.

Australia squad for first Test: Michael Clarke (captain), Shane Watson (vice-captain), Ed Cowan, Ben Hilfenhaus, Mike Hussey, Nathan Lyon, James Pattinson, Ricky Ponting, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner.


Story first published:  Monday, October 29, 2012, 11:19 [IST]
Write Comments