Pujara, the focus as Mumbai A face England

Posted by:
Published: Friday, November 2, 2012, 14:18 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Focus on Pujara in Mumbai A-England game

Mumbai, Nov 2: Cheteshwar Pujara will be hoping to get valuable match practice ahead of the Test series as he is part of the Mumbai A team which will play England in a three-day tour game from Saturday (November 3).

Pujara and Shikhar Dhawan are the two outsiders in Mumbai A team. Pujara, who plays for Saurashtra, is not in action in the first round of Ranji Trophy games which started on Friday. Saurashtra have a bye and are not playing in the first round.

This game will help Pujara fine tune his game ahead of the big series at home. Pujara looked in good nick in the Tests against New Zealand by scoring a hundred. He is confirmed to continue as number three batsman in Tests for India against England after the retirement of Rahul Dravid.

Left-handed Dhawan, who has been in roaring form in domestic cricket this year, will yet again look to score more runs and impress the selectors. With Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir not in the best of nick, Dhawan has a great chance to take the reserve opener's slot.

For England, it will be another opportunity to settle on their playing XI for the first Test in Ahmedabad which starts on November 15. Captain Alastair Cook and Samit Patel hit centuries in their opening tour game against India A at Brabourne Stadium.

The debate over non-inclusion of a specialist spinner in India A has ended now. It will be the same with Mumbai A as they have only one frontline spinner in Sagar Gorivale.


Mumbai A: Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Shikhar Dhawan, Hiken Shah, Bhavin Thakkar, Sufiyan Shaikh, Nikhil Patil (Jr.), Abhishek Raut, Neelkanth Parab, Bravish Shetty, Kshemal Waingankar, Balwinder Singh Sandhu (Jr.) , Sagar Gorivale, Javed Khan, Shardul Thakur.

England: Alastair Cook (captain), James Anderson, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Nick Compton, Steven Finn, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott, Sturt Broad, Joe Root, Jimmy Bairstow, Graham Onions, Eoin Morgan, Monty Panesar.

Match starts at 9.30 AM IST


Write Comments