Ranji Trophy: Odisha stun Karnataka in Bangalore

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, November 27, 2012, 17:39 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Ranji Trophy: Odisha stun Karnataka

Bangalore, Nov 27: What could be termed as a huge upset, Odisha stunned former champions Karnataka by 65 runs in Ranji Trophy at M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Tuesday. This is the first time in the history of India's premier domestic competition that minnows Odisha have beaten Karnataka, one of the strongest teams in the championship.

Ranji Schedule

Needing 202 runs on the fourth and final day with nine wickets remaining, Karnataka faltered to be bowled out for 179 in 72.3 overs. The hosts were chasing 245 for victory and had ended the third day at 43/1.

This was second straight win this year for Odisha. They are now on top of Group B with 13 points from four matches. Karnataka are seventh with just five points from four games.

In Odisha (previously Orissa) and Karnataka (previously Mysore) meetings, the latter had won all of their earlier Ranji Trophy meetings. In their fifth attempt, Odish have managed to register a famous win.

In all of the previous matches, Karnataka/Mysore had won by innings margins twice (1997-98 and 2010-11). In other two matches, they won by 243 runs (1984-85) and 139 (2011-12).

Barring opener Robin Uthappa (45) and Stuart Binny (42) none of the other Karnataka batsmen could come to terms with the pitch something for the pacemen.

Medium pacer Alok Chandra Sahoo claimed three wickets for 27 runs in seven runs. Opening fast bowler Basant Mohanty (2/31), medium pacers Deepak Behera (2/38) and BB Samantray (2/28) played a big part in the visitors' success.

Karnataka are still searching for their first outright win this season.

Hosts' captain R Vinay Kumar had taken seven wickets on the third day to give them a great chance of a win. But batsmen failed to accomplish the mission. Karnataka had taken 11-run first innings lead but that counted for nothing in the end result.

Brief scores: Odisha 202 and 255 beat Karnataka 213 and 179 all out in 72.3 overs (Robin Uthappa 45, Stuart Binny 42, Alok Chandra Sahoo 3/27)


Story first published:  Tuesday, November 27, 2012, 15:03 [IST]
Write Comments