Pietersen not in T20 squad for India series

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, December 13, 2012, 13:16 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London, Nov 28: Kevin Pietersen and Graeme Swann have not been included in England's squad for two-match Twenty20 International series against India next month.

India Vs England Schedule

England selectors on Wednesday named a 13-man squad as well as a squad for the five match One Day International series against India in January. First India-England T20I is on December 20. The ODIs start on January 11, 2013.

Pietersen not included in T20 squad

Pietersen, however, has been included in the ODI squad while Swann has missed out on both squads. Pietersen has returned to the ODI setup after missing out England's last series against South Africa. England selectors have rested Pietersen and Swann as part of rotation policy.

Stuart Broad will lead the T20 side in a two match series with Surrey pace bowler Stuart Meaker the only player included in the squad not to have played a T20 match for England before.

Two members of the 13-man squad were not involved in England's recent ICC World T20 campaign, James Tredwell and Stuart Meaker.

National selector, Geoff Miller, said: "We know that playing limited overs cricket in India can be challenging but the T20 and ODI series provide an excellent opportunity for these players to show that they have learnt valuable lessons from the last ODI series against India and improved as players in subcontinent conditions. We have selected squads containing experienced international players alongside younger players who have impressed playing for England Lions and the England Performance Programme recently and who deserve an opportunity to establish themselves in the England side.

"We are constantly looking to manage the workload of players as effectively as possible and this winter is no different so there are number of players who are being rested for parts of the winter programme. This will enable them to take part in fitness and conditioning programmes in preparation for a busy 2013."

The five match ODI series begins on January 11 in Rajkot. Five players included in the squad did not take part in England's most recent ODI tour of India in 2011; Danny Briggs, Eoin Morgan, James Tredwell, Stuart Broad and James Anderson.

England T20 squad: Stuart Broad (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Stuart Meaker, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, James Tredwell, Luke Wright

England ODI squad: Alastair Cook (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Craig Kieswetter, Stuart Meaker, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott, James Anderson (first three ODIs), Stuart Broad (fourth and fifth ODIs).


Story first published:  Wednesday, November 28, 2012, 21:43 [IST]
Write Comments