ICC Women's World Cup 2013 schedule announced

Posted by:
Published: Monday, December 3, 2012, 17:01 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

ICC Women's World Cup schedule announced

Dubai, Dec 3: Hosts India will open the ICC Women's World Cup at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai next year, where the India men's team won the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 last April, against the West Indies on 31 January 2013, ICC stated in a media release on Monday.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today released the schedule and format of the ICC Women's World Cup India 2013, to be held in Mumbai from 31 January to 17 February 2013, and holder England will begin its trophy defence also at Wankhede Stadium - against Sri Lanka on 2 February.

Beaten finalists at the ICC Women's World Cup 2009 in Australia was New Zealand and it opens its campaign against South Africa, also at Wankhede Stadium on 1 February.

The top eight women's sides in the world will battle it out to be crowned ICC Women's World Cup champion across five venues. Holder England, along with New Zealand, Australia and India all qualified for next year's event by virtue of finishing in the top four of the ICC Women's World Cup 2009.

Joining the top four will be the top four sides from the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier 2011, which was held in Bangladesh in November last year. Winner West Indies, along with Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa make up the remaining places in the tournament.

The eight teams have been divided into two groups of four, with the top three progressing into the Super Sixes stage of the tournament.

A total of 25 matches will be played across five venues in Mumbai - Wankhede Stadium, Bandra Kurla Complex (BKC), Cricket Club of India (CCI), Middle Income Group Club Ground (MIG) and DY Patil Stadium - with CCI scheduled to host the final of the tournament on 17 February in a day/night ODI.

The ICC's official broadcast partner Star Cricket will broadcast 10 of those 25 matches in high definition. The 10 matches that will be broadcast will be a selection of those played at the Wankhede Stadium and the Cricket Club of India, including of course the final on 17 February.

Tournament schedule

Notes: All day matches begin at 0900 while day/night fixtures begin at 1430 India time.


Group A - England (A1), India (A2), West Indies (A3), Sri Lanka (A4)

Group B - Australia (B1), New Zealand (B2), Pakistan (B3), South Africa (B4)

31 Jan - India v West Indies (D/N) (Live on Star Cricket), Wankhede Stadium; Australia v Pakistan, BKC

1 Feb - New Zealand v South Africa (D/N), Wankhede Stadium (Live on Star Cricket)

2 Feb - England v Sri Lanka, Wankhede Stadium (Live on Star Cricket)

3 Feb - New Zealand v Pakistan, BKC; Australia v South Africa, CCI

4 Feb - India v England, Wankhede Stadium (Live on Star Cricket); Sri Lanka v West Indies, MIG

5 Feb - Pakistan v South Africa, BKC; Australia v New Zealand (D/N), DY Patil

6 Feb - India v Sri Lanka, Wankhede Stadium (Live on Star Cricket); England v West Indies (D/N), CCI

7 Feb - Rest Day

8 Feb - Rest Day

Super Six Stage

Provided they qualify, each of the top three teams will retain their ranking from the group stage through to the Super Sixes, regardless of their finishing position in the group. For example, England will be ranked A1 whether they finish first, second or third at the end of the group stage. If the fourth ranked team in a group qualifies for the Super Six stage, they will adopt the ranking of the team that they have replaced. For example if Sri Lanka qualifies at the expense of England, Sri Lanka would follow the fixtures for A1 in the Super Six stage.

9 Feb - A2 v B2 (D/N), Wankhede Stadium; A3 v B3, BKC; A1 v B1 (D/N) (Live on Star Cricket), CCI; A4 v B4 (7th v 8th Play Off), MIG

10 Feb - Reserve Day

11 Feb - A3 v B2, BKC; A2 v B1 (D/N) (Live on Star Cricket), CCI; A1 v B3, DY Patil

12 Feb - Reserve Day

13 Feb - A3 v B1, Wankhede Stadium; A1 v B2, BKC; A2 v B3, CCI (Live on Star Cricket)

14 Feb - Reserve Day

15 Feb - 5th v 6th Play Off, BKC; 3rd v 4th Play Off, CCI (Live on Star Cricket)

16 Feb - Reserve Day

17 Feb - Final (D/N), CCI (Live on Star Cricket)


D/N = Day/night fixture

CCI = Cricket Club of India

MIG = Middle Income Group Ground

BKC = Bandra Kurla Complex


Write Comments