हिन्दीಕನ್ನಡമലയാളംதமிழ்తెలుగు

Bizarre run out ends Cook's marathon knock

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, December 13, 2012, 12:08 [IST]
 
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kolkata, Dec 7: A bizarre run out ended Alastair Cook's marathon innings during third day of third Test against India at Eden Gardens here on Friday. Captain Cook, looking set for his third career double century, was found short of his crease at the non-striker's end from a Virat Kohli direct hit in unusual circumstances.

This was first ever run out in the left-handed batsman's 86-Test career.

As Kevin Pietersen played a Zaheer Khan ball to square-leg, Cook took off for a single only to be sent back. However, seeing the throw from Kohli, Cook took try to avoid the ball hitting him in the process failing to put his bat down inside the crease.

Bizarre run out ends Cook's knock

Kohli's full throw was on the stumps and Cook was declared run out by third umpire. Before that, on-field umpires Rod Tucker and Kumar Dharmasena had a word with India captain MS Dhoni about the appeal. It was not clear what the conversation was about.

According to Law 38 which deals with Run Out, Cook was rightly given out on 190. However, the Law has a clause which deals with batsman taking evasive action (not run out). If Cook had grounded his bat once and then taken evasive action, he would have survived.

Cook fell for 190 off 377 balls. When Cook exited, England were 359/3 in 126.5 overs.

This is what Law 38 (2a) says about Batsman not Run Out

Law 38 (Run out)

2. Batsman not Run out

Notwithstanding 1 above, a batman is not out Run out if

(a) he has been within his ground and has subsequently left it to avoid injury, when the wicket is put down.

ThatsCricket

Story first published:  Friday, December 7, 2012, 13:36 [IST]
Write Comments