हिन्दीಕನ್ನಡമലയാളംதமிழ்తెలుగు

NZ pick 15-man squad; Ross Taylor unavailable

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, December 13, 2012, 12:08 [IST]
 
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Wellington, Dec 7: New Zealand Cricket (NZC) announce 15-member squad for the upcoming tour of South Africa, starting later this month.

Wicket-keeper Kruger van Wyk has been replaced by B J Watling in the squad, for the upcoming series against South Africa.

Brendon McCullum was named the captain of the New Zealand cricket team on Friday after Ross Taylor was being fired as captain.

Fired Ross Taylor pulls out of SA series

Since Taylor requested for a break from international cricket, the former skipper has not been included in the squad for the two Tests, 3 ODIs and T20Is starting later this month.

The test squad includes Bruce Martin who awaits his international debut at hte age of 32, having played first class cricket for 13-long years. Martin would be replacing the injured Daniel Vettori in the squad.

"We don't require a leg-spin option in South African conditions so have left out Todd Astle, but he is very much part of our thinking for the future," New Zealand coach Mike Hesson said. "Bruce Martin is a specialist spinner who can bowl a lot of overs and he deserves an opportunity after showing good recent form."

Apart from Martin, Corey Anderson, Jimmy Neesham, Colin Munro, Derek de Boorder and Mitchell McClenaghan would look forward for their international debut against South Africa in December.

"We believe the squad has a good blend of experience and young talented players who we are sure are ready for the challenges ahead," he said.

Schedule

Dec 21, 1st T20I: South Africa v New Zealand, Durban (16:00 GMT; 9:30pm IST)

Dec 23, 2nd T20I: South Africa v New Zealand, East London (16:00 GMT; 9:30pm IST)

Dec 26, 3rd T20I: South Africa v New Zealand, Port Elizabeth (12:30 GMT; 6 PM IST)

Tests

Jan 2-6, 2013: 1st Test: South Africa v New Zealand, Cape Town (08:30 GMT; 2 PM IST)

Jan 11-15, 2013: 2nd Test: South Africa v New Zealand, Port Elizabeth  (08:00 GMT; 1:30 PM IST)

ODIs

Jan 19, 2013: 1st ODI: South Africa v New Zealand, Paarl (08:00 GMT; 1:30 PM IST)

Jan 22, 2013: 2nd ODI: South Africa v New Zealand, Kimberley (12:30 GMT; 6 PM IST)

Jan 25, 2013: 3rd ODI: South Africa v New Zealand, Potchefstroom (12:30 GMT; 6 PM IST)

Squads

Test squad: Brendon McCullum (captain), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Dean Brownlie, Daniel Flynn, James Franklin, Peter Fulton, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Bruce Martin, Jeetan Patel, Kane Williamson, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, B.J. Watling.

T20 squad: Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Derek de Boorder, James Franklin, Peter Fulton, Martin Guptill, Ronnie Hira, Nathan McCullum, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Rob Nicol.

ThatsCricket

Story first published:  Friday, December 7, 2012, 14:43 [IST]

Please read our comments and moderation policy before posting

Write Comments