Zaheer, Yuvraj, Harbhajan dropped for Nagpur Test

Posted by:
Updated: Sunday, December 9, 2012, 16:26 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Zaheer, Yuvraj, Harbhajan dropped

Kolkata, Dec 9: Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh have been dropped from India squad for fourth and final Test against England in Nagpur. The selectors on Sunday have chosen uncapped Ravindra Jadeja and Parvinder Awana while Piyush Chawla makes a comeback. The fourth Test starts from December 13.

Who is Parvinder Awana?

Zaheer has been dropped from the Test team for the first time since 2006. The senior left-arm paceman took just four wickets in three Tests against England. He has been India's bowling spearhead for a long time and he will have to wait for his 300th Test scalp. He has 295 wickets in 88 matches.

Harbhajan played one Test in the series in Mumbai and took two wickets. Yuvraj, who made a return to Test cricket this series, scored 74 in first Test but followed that up with 0, 8, 32 and 11.

Following the seven-wicket loss to England in the third Test on Sunday, Indian selectors have chosen to axe the non-performing seniors and have rewarded Jadeja and Awana for their impressive performances in the ongoing Ranji Trophy. However legspinner Chawla has not been that effective in Ranji Trophy this season as Jadeja and Awana. Chawla has taken nine wickets in three matches at a high average.

Chawla last played a Test for India in 2008 against South Africa in Kanpur. It is more than four years since he wore India Test cap. He has played just two Test since making debut against England in Mohali in 2006.

Left-handed Jadeja has scored two triple hundreds this season. The Saurashtra all-rounder recently became the first Indian batsman to score three triple centuries in first-class cricket. He is likely to take the number six spot for Nagpur Test. Delhi right-arm seamer Awana, 26, has taken 21 wickets in five games and is currently playing against Karnataka at M Chinnaswamy Stadium. He took five wickets in the first wickets.

The selectors also picked squad for Twenty20 Internationals against England. India will play two T20Is, on December 20 and 22. Awana has made it to T20 team also. Bhunveshwar Kumar, 22, is the other new face. Injured Irfan Pathan missed out. Harbhajan has been ignored for T20s too.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) press release said that Virender Sehwag and Zaheer Khan were "unavailable" for selection for T20s.

India Test squad for Nagpur: MS Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, R Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha, Piyush Chawla, Parvinder Awana, Ashok Dinda, Ajinkya Rahane, Murali Vijay.

India squad for T20Is: MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Manoj Tiwary, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Piyush Chawla, Ashok Dinda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Laxmipathy Balaji, Parvinder Awana.


Story first published:  Sunday, December 9, 2012, 13:34 [IST]
Write Comments