K'taka seal first win, beat Delhi by 159 runs

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, December 13, 2012, 10:37 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, Dec 11: Karnataka won their first match against Delhi in Ranji Trophy this season, having restricted them to 250 by claiming all the wickets on Day 4 of round 5 match at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on Tuesday.

Karnataka set a target of 410 to win having declared their second innings at 475/9 on Day 3. Chasing a mammoth 410, Delhi lost 6 wickets for 200 at Tea and had to survive another session to draw the match, while Karnataka needed four wickets.

Ranji: Karnataka beat Delhi by 159 runs

R Vinay Kumar bowled fabulously to get 3/59 to help Karnataka win by 159 runs.

HS Sharath also claimed 3 wickets, Stuart Binny (2) and Mithun (1) helped Karnataka restrict the Delhi lower-order to 250. Manhas was dismissed for 81 just before the Tea break. Rajat Bhatia who kept Delhi's hopes alive until Tea, was dismissed for 63.

With 3 draws and a loss, Karnataka had collected five points, a win against Delhi puts them on par with their opponents at 11 points in Ranji Trophy this season. Delhi on the other hand have secured 11 points with a win, 2 draws and 2 losses in 5 matches.

Karnataka had lost the last match they played against Odisha in the fourth round at home which had put more pressure on the home side to perform.

Robin Uthappa (81), KL Rahul (73), Manish Pandey (61), Stuart Binny (85), CM Gautam (71), Vinay Kumar (32) and Abhimanyu Mithun (52) helped Karnataka post a mammoth total of 475/9 and declare, in order to set Delhi a target of 410.

Brief Scores:

Karnataka I Innings - 192 (Stuart Binny 61, R Vinay Kumar 28; P Awana 5/81, R Bhatia 2/23, S Narwal 2/35)

Delhi I Innings - 258 (Parvinder Awana 74, VP Rawal 48, Shikhar Dhawan 38; HS Sharath 4/52, KP Appanna 2/17, R Vinay Kumar 2/74)

Karnataka II Innings - 475/9d (S Binny 85, R Uthappa 81, Rahul 73, CM Gautam 71, M Pandey 61, A Mithun 52; P Awana 3/89, S Narwal 3/84)

Delhi II Innings - 250 (M Manhas 81, R Bhatia 63 ; HS Sharath 3/21, Vinay 3/59)


Story first published:  Tuesday, December 11, 2012, 13:16 [IST]
Write Comments