Vinay Kumar replaces Balaji in India T20 squad

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, December 13, 2012, 15:23 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Vinay Kumar replaces Balaji for T20s

Bangalore, Dec 13: Paceman R Vinay Kumar will replace the injured Laxmipathy Balaji in India Twenty20 International squad for the two-match series against England.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Thursday that Balaji is injured and his place will be taken by Karnataka's Vinay. Balaji has a stress injury to his right big toe.

"L Balaji has suffered a stress injury to his right big toe, and has been ruled out of the T20 International series against England, as a result," BCCI Secretary Sanjay Jagdale said in a statement.

"The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked R Vinay Kumar as his replacement in the Indian team," he added.

The 28-year-old Vinay, who was on his way to play a Ranji Trophy game in Mysore, last played for India in March this year. He is leading Karnataka in Ranji Trophy. Karnataka are scheduled to play Vidarbha from December 15.

So far, Vinay has played 1 Test, 22 One Day Internationals and 8 T20Is.

The first of the two matches will be played in Pune on December 20 and the second one in Mumbai on December 22.

Revised India T20 squad: MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Manoj Tiwary, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Piyush Chawla, Ashok Dinda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, R Vinay Kumar, Parvinder Awana.


Story first published:  Thursday, December 13, 2012, 14:08 [IST]
Write Comments