Hyderabad IPL team named as Sun Risers

Posted by:
Updated: Wednesday, December 19, 2012, 10:19 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hyderabad IPL team named as Sun Risers

Bangalore, Dec 18: Indian Premier League's (IPL) Hyderabad team will be called Sun Risers from next season, it was announced on Tuesday. Sun TV Network, which bought the Hyderabad franchisee recently, have chosen this new name for their team from IPL 6.

On Tuesday, the franchisee's official twitter account @Sun_IPL wrote: "Our team will be called as 'Sun Risers' from #IPL 2013. Spread the word :)"

Deccan Chargers was terminated by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) this year and in the auction, Sun TV bought the team. BCCI had invited tenders for buying the Hyderabad franchisee.

Deccan Chargers, now defunct, won the 2009 edition of the IPL.

Recently, Pepsi won the bid to become the title sponsor from the next edition IPL. DLF ended its contract as title sponsor of IPL after five years.

In October, Sun TV bought the team for a five-year deal which will be priced at a total of Rs 425.2 crores. In 2008, Deccan Chargers was bought for a price of US $107 million (about Rs 428 crores for 10 years).


Read more about: ipl, deccan chargers, ipl 6, sun risers
Story first published:  Tuesday, December 18, 2012, 15:08 [IST]
Write Comments