T20: Sehwag, Zaheer opt out; India take on England

Posted by:
Updated: Wednesday, December 19, 2012, 18:29 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pune, Dec 19: After a humiliating Test series loss to England, Team India hope to regain form in the T20s as they play the visitors at Subrata Roy Sahara Cricket Stadium at Pune on Thursday.

Under-fire MS Dhoni and his team need to regroup and put up a good show against the England team in the shortest format of the game.

Young India take on upbeat Eng in T20s

The presence of Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu would give Team India a different look especially after the 2-1 drubbing in Tests.

With a decent Ranji trophy season, Rohit Sharma would be waiting to grab the opportunity and cement his place in the team.

Yuvraj Singh's presence in the middle will also add a lot of flavour to India's bowling and batting.

Since Virender Sehwag has opted out of the T20s against England, Ajinkya Rahane would get a chance to prove his worth in the shortest version of the game.

The pace-attack also looks fresh with the likes of Parvinder Awana, Abhimanyu Mithun, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar and Ashok Dinda in the absence of Zaheer Khan. With Ravindra Jadeja and Ashwin taking care of the spin department, Team India looks pretty confident to take on England in T20s.

England on the other hand have also made a few changes as Eoin Morgan replaces Alastair Cook, who is also named the skipper in the absence of Stuart Broad.

While James Harris has returned to the T20 squad to replace the injured Broad, Tim Bresnan, Johnny Bairstow, Samit Patel and Joe Root have been retained from the Test squad.

The presence of T20 specialists - ALex Hales, Jos Butler, Jade Dernbach, James Tredwell, Michael Lumb, Luke Wright and Danny Briggs has made England a better team when compared to the hosts.

Team India need to get all the basics right ahead of their first T20 at Pune on Thursday.


India: Mahendra Sing Dhoni (Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Piyush Chawla, Ashok Dinda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Abhimanyu Mithun and Parvinder Awana.

England: Eoin Morgan (Captain), James Harris, Jonny Bairstow, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Butler, Jade Dernbach, Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Stuart Meaker, Samit Patel, Joe Root, James Tredwell and Luke Wright.

Umpires: C Shamsuddin, Sudhur Asnani

Third Umpire: Vineet Kulkarni

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe

Match starts at 7 pm (IST) on Thursday.


Story first published:  Wednesday, December 19, 2012, 14:56 [IST]
Write Comments