Preview: India aim for clean sweep in Mumbai

Posted by:
Updated: Saturday, December 22, 2012, 23:38 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai, Dec 21: India will aim to make a clean sweep of the two-match Twenty20 International series against England as they face the visitors here on Saturday.

Following the debacle in Test series, India, led by Yuvraj Singh's superb show, won with five wickets to spare on Thursday night in Mumbai. MS Dhoni-led outfit was looking in top form in the shortest format and are now favourites to win 2-0.

Preview: India aim for clean sweep

Wankhede Stadium is the venue for the second and final T20I. Again, Yuvraj's all-round abilities could be the key for Team India. Only concern for the hosts is their pace bowling. Debutant Parvinder Awana, may be nervous on the big stage, did not have a good game.

Right-arm fast bowler Awana was off the attack after two overs which cost 29 runs. Awana might make way for another uncapped bowling all-rounder Bhuvneshwar Kumar or paceman Abhimanyu Mithun.

Dhoni will again rely on his spinners to restrict England. Due to dew factor, the captain had opted to bowl first and his decision turned out to be correct.

For England, Alex Hales was in great form at the top of the order. Hales was hitting the ball well and got to a half century. But his wicket turned thins towards India. Yuvraj clean bowled Hales for 56.

Luke Wright too got some runs for England but was out in the twenties. Wicketkeeper Jos Buttler made a 33 not out and helped the team past 150 in the first T20I. England did not capitalise on the start they got.

Jonny Bairstow, who is part of England squad but did not play in Pune, has left for home on Friday for personal reason, England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced.

England will head home after this game for Christmas and will return in the first week of January for five One Day Internationals.


India: MS Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Piyush Chawla, Ashok Dinda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Abhimanyu Mithun and Parvinder Awana

England: Eoin Morgan (captain), James Harris, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Stuart Meaker, Samit Patel, Joe Root, James Tredwell and Luke Wright

Umpires: S Ravi and Vineet Kulkarni

Third umpire: Sudhir Asnani

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe

Match starts at 7 pm (IST)


Story first published:  Friday, December 21, 2012, 16:04 [IST]
Write Comments