England win thriller with last-ball six

Posted by:
Updated: Saturday, December 22, 2012, 23:43 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai, Dec 22: It was a thriller at Wankhede Stadium on Saturday night. England won on the last ball with captain Eoin Morgan (26-ball 49 not out) hitting a six off the final ball to tie the two-match Twenty20 International series against India. England successfully chased a target of 178 for the loss of four wickets.


Ashok Dinda bowled the final over with England needing 9 to win. The visitors managed only three singles off the first three balls. It came down to 6 off the final 3 balls with Jos Buttler on strike. Buttler took two off the fourth ball.

England win thriller with last-ball six

With four needed off the last two balls, it was tension all around. Buttler was beaten and he and Morgan stole a bye with MS Dhoni failing to run Morgan out at the striker's end.

Final ball and it was 3 to win with Morgan left with the responsibility to take England home. Morgan kept his cool and deposited the ball straight over the sightscreen to take England to victory by six wickets. That six was measured at 92 metres. Morgan won the Man of the match award.

With heavy dew on the ground, Indian bowlers struggled to grip the ball. However, in the end result England's better fielding effort stood out. Indians were guilty of spilling one catch (Parvinder Awana) and few misfields cost them dear. Paceman Awana had a forgettable second international game with figures of 0/42 in four overs. He went wicketless in debut game in Pune, bowling just 2 overs for 29.

Earlier, the chase was nicely set up by opener Michael Lumb and Alex Hales. Lumb was aggressive right from the start and registered his maiden T20I half century. Lumb made 34-ball 50 while Hales had 42 off 33 deliveries.

India's specialist bowlers failed collectively and once again it was left to Yuvraj Singh to rescue the team. Yuvraj followed his 3/19 in Pune with another fine effort of 3/17, his best T20I figures.

The left-arm spinner's another exceptional performance was not enough to stop England because his colleagues failed. Spinners R Ashwin (0/38 in 4) and Piyush Chawla (0/31 in 4) were not successful with the ball. Yuvraj ended the series with 6/36 (only two boundaries conceded in 8 overs) and scored 42 runs. Yuvraj won the Man of the series prize.

India had won the first match in Pune. They missed out on a chance to top T20I ICC Rankings. Had they won today, they would have been number one.

England ended the year with a win and will now head back having won the Test series 2-1 and drawing T20s 1-1. They will return to India in the first week of January for five-match One Day International series starting on January 11 in Rajkot.

India 177/8 in 20 overs

First, it was Virat Kohli's delightful batting display that laid the foundation. Towards the end, captain MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina launched a brutal assault on England bowlers to power India to 177/8 in 20 overs in the second and final Twenty20 International here on Saturday.

Kohli smashed a 20-ball 38 with seven delightful boundaries but once he left the ground, India had a quiet period of overs with couple of wickets tumbling. But Dhoni and Raina joined hands to bring about a flurry of boundaries.

Dhoni-Raina partnership yielded 60 runs in just 4.3 overs. Dhoni's powerful strikes took him to a 18-ball 38 (3x4, 2x6) while Raina remained unbeaten on 24-ball 35 (3x4, 1x6).

India were 114/5 in 15 overs. Dhoni and Raina's big hits powered them to 63 runs in the final 30 balls of the innings.

Paceman Stuart Meaker was the most expensive of England bowlers with figures of 1/42 in four overs. Luke Wright took two wickets for 38 in four. Jade Dernbach too had two scalps in four for 37 runs.

With lot of dew on the ground, Indian bowlers might find it tough to grip the ball. However, they have a good total to defend.

Toss Report: England opt to field

England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and chose to bowl against India. India had won the first T20I in Pune by five wickets.

England made one change. Right-hand batsman Joe Root will make his T20I debut today. He replaced left-arm spinner Danny Briggs. Root impressed on his Test debut in Nagpur in the recently concluded series.

India too made one change by bringing in Rohit Sharma in place of Ravindra Jadeja.

Wankhede Stadium, the venue for 2011 World Cup final in April last year, is hosting its first T20 International.

Jonny Bairstow, who was part of England squad but did not play in Pune in first T20I, has left for home on Friday for family reasons, England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced.

Playing XIs

India: MS Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin, Piyush Chawla, Ashok Dinda, Parvinder Awana.

England: Eoin Morgan (captain), Tim Bresnan, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Jade Dernbach, Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Stuart Meaker, Samit Patel, Joe Root, James Tredwell and Luke Wright.

Umpires: S Ravi and Vineet Kulkarni

Third umpire: Sudhir Asnani

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe

Match starts at 7 pm (IST)


Story first published:  Saturday, December 22, 2012, 18:37 [IST]
Write Comments