Zaheer ignored for Pakistan ODIs, Mishra returns

Posted by:
Updated: Sunday, December 23, 2012, 15:17 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Zaheer ignored for Pakistan ODIs

Mumbai, Dec 23: Legspinner Amit Mishra has made a comeback to India One Day International team for Pakistan series while Bhunveshwar Kumar and Shami Ahmed are the new faces in the squad announced on Sunday. The selectors have ignored Zaheer Khan for both Twenty20 Internationals and ODIs.

Tendulkar retires from ODIs

The selection panel has not picked Virender Sehwag for T20s but the opener is in ODI squad. In the T20 squad which played against England, there is only one change with Ishant Sharma replacing Abhimanyu Mithun.

Sachin Tendulkar announced retirement from ODIs on the same day when selectors met at BCCI headquarters in Mumbai.

Yuvraj Singh also returned to One Day cricket, for the first time since 2011 World Cup final in Mumbai.

All-rounder Bhuvneshwar and Bengal paceman Shami have been rewarded for consistently performing in domestic cricket. Umesh Yadav, Irfan Pathan and Manoj Tiwary have been injured and hence not considered for ODI selection. Ravindra Jadeja has also a made a comeback into ODI team.

The first of the T20s start on December 25 in Bangalore. The ODIs begin on December 30 in Chennai.

T20 squad: MS Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Ashok Dinda, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Parvinder Awana, Piyush Chawla, Ambati Rayudu.

ODI squad: MS Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ashok Dinda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shami Ahmed, Amit Mishra.


Story first published:  Sunday, December 23, 2012, 12:20 [IST]
Write Comments