Pietersen rested for New Zealand series

Posted by:
Published: Sunday, December 23, 2012, 17:48 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pietersen rested for New Zealand series

London, Dec 23: England have rested Kevin Pietersen from Twenty20 and One Day International series for the tour of New Zealand next year. The T20 squad has two changes from the squad selected for the series against India with Stuart Broad returning to captain the side after a heel injury forced him to miss out on the most recent T20 series and Steven Finn also returns.

England tour of New Zealand 2013 schedule

England and New Zealand will play three T20Is starting on February 9 in Auckland. The squads were announced on Sunday.

The three match ODI series begins on February 17 in Hamilton. James Anderson, Jonathan Trott and Graeme Swann return to the side after being rested for the ODI tour of India. Pietersen has been omitted from both squads as selectors look to manage the workload of players throughout the year.

Yorkshire batsman Joe Root, who made his England Test debut earlier this month against India, will captain England Lions against Australia A for a five match one-day series.

National Selector, Geoff Miller, said: "Kevin Pietersen will miss the limited overs tour of New Zealand with Graeme Swann missing the T20 leg of the tour. This approach also provides an opportunity for talented young players to gain more international experience which will be important for their development and the development of England sides in the future."

England T20 squad: Stuart Broad (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Stuart Meaker, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, James Tredwell, Luke Wright

England ODI squad: Alastair Cook (captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Craig Kieswetter, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott

England Lions squad: Joe Root (captain), Gary Ballance, Scott Borthwick, Danny Briggs, Varun Chopra, Matthew Coles, Ben Foakes, Alex Hales, James Harris, Simon Kerrigan, Toby Roland-Jones, Ben Stokes, James Taylor, Reece Topley, Chris Wright.


Write Comments