Shaun Marsh returns to Australia T20 squad

Posted by:
Published: Monday, January 21, 2013, 13:08 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Shaun Marsh back in Australia T20 squad

Melbourne, Jan 21: Australia on Monday recalled left-hander Shaun Marsh for the two Twenty20 Internationals against Sri Lanka while the selectors dropped David Hussey. George Bailey will continue to captain the side.

Australia will play two T20Is against Sri Lanka starting on January 26 in Sydney. The second and final game is in Melbourne on January 28.

Marsh ended the recently concluded Big Bash League as the top scorer. He scored 412 runs. Aaron Finch, who won the man of the series in BBL, was also rewarded with a place. Finch scored 332 runs and was fourth in the highest scorers list.

Commenting on the squad, National Selector John Inverarity said: "The NSP has named a talented and exciting squad of 12 players for the two matches against Sri Lanka.

"This squad includes six players who were not in the ICC World T20 squad in September. Each of these six, Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, Adam Voges, Ben Cutting, James Faulkner and Ben Laughlin has shown outstanding form in the T20 format over the past two months. Their performances have been compelling and we anticipate they will take this momentum into the two fixtures scheduled for 26 and 28 January. All except Ben Cutting have represented Australia in T20s previously.

"Aaron Finch was the player of the tournament in the T20 Big Bash League, while Shaun Marsh finished as the highest run-scorer with 412 runs. Ben Laughlin bowled cleverly to take the most number of wickets, 14, while Ben Cutting was second highest wicket-taker with 13 at a very good economy rate.

"Ben Rohrer played brilliantly with the Melbourne Renegades and was in strong contention for inclusion, as was Luke Pomersbach. The NSP is pleased to see Luke playing so well and hope his good form continues," Inverarity said.

The squad will assemble in Sydney on Thursday afternoon.

Australia squad: George Bailey (captain), Ben Cutting, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Ben Laughlin, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade, David Warner.


Write Comments