Clinical Australia thrash Sri Lanka by 32 runs

Posted by:
Published: Wednesday, January 23, 2013, 17:44 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hobart, Jan 23: Australia's clinical show ensured a 32-run victory over Sri Lanka as the hosts levelled the series at 2-2 having won the final ODI at Hobart on Wednesday.


Sri Lanka having elected to field first, couldn't restrict Australia for a modest total as the hosts riding on Phil Hughes' 138, posted 247/5 in 50 overs.

Australia thrash Lanka by 32 runs

Malinga (1/49), Herath (0/34) Dilshan (1/22) tried to restrict the hosts, but Hughes' century knock suggested that Aussies were not taking the match lightly as they had to win the match to share the honours.

Matthew Wade (23), David Warner (10), George Bailey (17), David Hussey 934), Maxwell (9) all disappointed as it looked like another batting collapse but Hughes ensured that he held the innings firmly to help Aussies post 247/5.

Chasing 248 to win, Lanka lost wickets in quick succession as Tillakaratne Dilshan (19), Mahela Jayawardene (38), Lahiru Thirimanne (1), Chandimal (6), Kushal Perera (14), Jeevan Mendis (26), Thisara Perera (7), Herath (2), Malinga (2), Kulasekara (14*) all fell cheaply while Angelo Mathews alone waged the battle with a 79-ball 67 as Lanka posted 215 in 48.3 overs.

Tillakaratne became the seventh Sri Lankan cricketer to complete 7000 ODI runs and the 33rd cricketer to reach the milestone in the limited overs format of the game, but Sri Lanka failed to reach the target as they lost by 32 runs.

A clinical performance from Aussies saw Sri Lanka lose by 32 runs, as Henriques (3/32), Doherty (3/21), Johnson (2/45), McKay (2/51) impressed in the final ODI after losing the second and third ODI to Sri Lanka while the fourth one was abandoned due to wet conditions.

In the absence of skipper Michael Clarke, George Bailey led Australia to a convincing 32-run win as the hosts shared the honours with Sri Lanka with the final score line 2-2 at the end of the five-match ODI series.

Kulasekara was named the man of the series for claiming 11 wickets in the series while Phil Hughes was aptly named the man of the match.


Write Comments