Ranji Trophy final: Kulkarni puts Mumbai on top

Posted by:
Updated: Saturday, January 26, 2013, 17:44 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai, Jan 26: Paceman Dhawal Kulkarni took four wickets as Mumbai bowled Saurashtra out for a paltry 148 in 75.3 overs on the opening day of Ranji Trophy final here at Wankhede Stadium on Saturday. At stumps, Mumbai were 19/0 in 8 overs.

Mumbai were always in control of the first day's proceedings right from the start when they opted to bowl first. They rolled over Saurashtra cheaply in the final session of play.

Ranji Trophy final: Mumbai on top

Barring Aarpit Vasavada's 55 (146 balls, 9x4), none of Saurashtra batsmen were able to come to terms with a disciplined bowling from Mumbai. Only four batsmen were able to get into double figures.

Right-arm fast bowler Kulkarni was the star of the day. His bowling figures read 21.3-13-24-4. Abhishek Nayar and Vishal Dhabolkar had two scalps apiece.

Brief Scores: Saurashtra 148 all out in 75.3 overs (Aarpit Vasavada 55, Kamlesh Makvana 26, Jaydev Unadkat 22, Shitanshu Kotak 14, Dhawal Kulkarni 4/24, Abhishek Nayar 2/30, Vishal Dhabolkar 2/14, Ajit Agarkar 1/33) Vs Mumbai 19/0 in 8 overs (Wasim Jaffer 11 batting, Kaustubh Pawar 4 batting)

Lunch report: Saurashtra 51/5

Kulkarni bowled a superb spell of 11 overs to put Mumbai in command against Saurashtra in the first session of the opening day in the Ranji Trophy final at Wankhede Stadium on Saturday. At lunch, Saurashtra were tottering at 51/5 in 32 overs.

It was a good toss to win by home captain Ajit Agarkar and his bowlers responded well. There was moisture in the wicket and it was well exploited by Kulkarni. He struck in the second over by dismissing Sagar Jogiyani and continued his impressive bowling to add two more scalps before lunch. Saurashtra captain Jaydev Shah was out for a six-ball duck.

Kulkarni ended the first session with figures of 11-6-11-3. Left-arm spinner Vishal Dabholkar took two wickets.

Mumbai, bidding for their 40th title have begun very well. Saurashtra are already finding the hosts too strong to match.

Toss report: Mumbai invite Saurashtra to bat

Mumbai captain Ajit Agarkar won the toss and opted to field first against Saurashtra.

Mumbai, playing in a record 44th final, are bidding to take the trophy for the 40th time. Saurashtra are in their first ever title clash.

There is a bit of moisture in the pitch and Mumbai bowlers will be hoping to make the best of the first session of play.

Mumbai has retained the same playing XI from semi-finals. Sachin Tendulkar is playing in his sixth Ranji Trophy final.

Saurashtra have left out offspinner Vishal Joshi, who took five wickets in the semi-finals in the second innings against Punjab and won the Man-of-the-match award. Medium paceman Saurya Sanandiya has replaced Joshi.

Playing XIs

Mumbai: Ajit Agarkar (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Wasim Jaffer, Dhawal Kulkarni, Kaustubh Pawar, Abhishek Nayar, Hiken Shah, Aditya Tare (wicketkeeper), Ankeet Chavan, Shardul Thakur and Vishal Dabholkar.

Saurashtra: Jaydev Shah (captain), Sagar Jogiyani, Sitanshu Kotak, Sheldon Jackson, Arpit Vasavada, Rahul Dave, Kamlesh Makwana, Sidharth Trivedi, Jaydev Unadkat, Dharmendra Jadeja, Saurya Sanandiya.

Umpires: K Hariharan and O Nandan

Third umpire: Virender Sharma

Match Referee: Col. Chinmaya Sharma

Match starts at 9.30 AM


Story first published:  Saturday, January 26, 2013, 9:19 [IST]
Write Comments