Australia name 17-man Test squad for India tour

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, January 31, 2013, 11:17 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Australia name 17-man Test squad

Melbourne, Jan 31: Australia have named a 17-man Test squad to tour India next month. Michael Clarke will lead the side while Shane Watson will be his deputy.

Australia will play four Tests in India with the first Test scheduled to start in Chennai on February 22.

All-rounder Moises Henriques and Glenn Maxwell are the only two uncapped players in the squad which also features David Warner, who had fractured his thumb on Wednesday and was ruled out of first two One Day Internationals against West Indies.

Nathan Lyon and Xavier Doherty are the specialist spinners in the squad. Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Peter Siddle, Jackson Bird and James Pattinson are the five pacemen.

Commenting on the squad, National Selector John Inverarity said: "This squad has the flexibility that will be required for the varying conditions expected in India and it will provide valuable experience to a number of young players.

"The squad includes a spin bowling all-rounder in Maxwell and a medium-fast all-rounder in Henriques. In aiming for more depth in a bowling attack, the squad would allow for three pace bowlers, a leading spinner and Maxwell or two pace bowlers, the two spinners and Henriques. These are two of the options.

"Xavier Doherty also returns to the Test squad. We certainly feel he is much improved in the longer format of the game since he made his Test debut in 2010-11 against England.

"It is a long tour and a very important one as we look to continue our improvement in Test cricket and our quest to return to the top of the ICC Test cricket rankings. We are also building towards back-to-back Ashes series," Inverarity said.

Australia Test squad: Michael Clarke (captain), Shane Watson (vice-captain), Jackson Bird, Ed Cowan, Xavier Doherty, Moises Henriques, Phillip Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), David Warner.


Write Comments