Michael Clarke wins record 4th Allan Border Medal

Posted by:
Published: Tuesday, February 5, 2013, 11:24 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Clarke wins Allan Border Medal

Melbourne, Feb 5: Australia captain Michael Clarke has won a record-equalling fourth Allan Border Medal on Monday (February 4). Clarke also claimed the Test Player of the Year award.

The 31-year-old had won the Allan Border Medal in 2005, 2009 and 2012. He was joint winner with Ricky Ponting in 2009. Ponting is the only other player to have won this prestigious medal four times.

Clarke got 198 votes from the jury while recently retired Michael Hussey and Shane Watson were joint second with 165 votes apiece. The performances between February 25, 2012 to January 28, 2013 were taken into consideration for the annual awards.

The right-handed Clarke won his second successive Test Player of the Year after scoring 1,080 runs at an average of 77.14 in the 9 matches.

Fast bowler Clint McKay won the ODI Player of the Year while Shane Watson took the T20 Player of the Year honour. Phillip Hughes won the Domestic Player of the Year award while Jessica Cameron was Women's International Player of the Year.


Write Comments