Six-team Caribbean Premier League launched

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, February 14, 2013, 9:49 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Caribbean Premier League launched

Bridgetown (Barbados), Feb 14: Twenty20 cricket's star players Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard and others will be part of the inaugural Caribbean Premier League (CPL) which will be held in July and August, the organisers have announced.

CPL is set to begin on July 29 with six franchise teams. The organisers have identified Gayle, Pollard, Darren Sammy, Sunil Narine, Marlon Samuels and Dwayne Bravo as six franchise players.

Antigua, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, St Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago are the six franchise teams and each of these players will be part of these outfits.

According to media reports in Guyana, each of the franchise will have 15 contracted players with a maximum of six overseas cricketers.

"The CPL has chosen the top six T20 players in the region based on their stats and performances in this format of the game," "Guyana Chronicle" quoted Dirk Hall, managing director of Verus International - the Barbados and USA-based Company funding the Twenty20 league.

"Doing it this way ensures that each team is bolstered by a talented, top West Indian player, and that there is balance and fairness across the board on all six teams," Hall added.

"The WICB (West Indies Cricket Board) is elated with the agreement, which will allow for regional retainer contracts for a broad pool of players," WICB president Julian Hunte was quoted as saying.

"These contracts will be funded by the CPL to the tune of US$360 000 annually. This significant investment will truly allow for cricketers in the Caribbean to pursue their profession as professionals," he added.

CPL's first edition might have 32 matches. Each franchise will play on home and away basis.


Write Comments