Uthapppa and Rahul hit tons, Karnataka win

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, February 19, 2013, 11:57 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Uthapppa, Rahul hit tons for Karnataka

Porvorim (Goa), Feb 18: KL Rahul (110) and Robin Uthappa's (103) fine centuries helped Karnataka defeat Hyderabad by 47 runs in the KS Subbaiah Pillai Trophy South Zone 50-over tournament here on Monday. This was Karnataka's fourth straight victory.

Batting first, Karnataka rode on twin tons to post a commanding 305/9 in 50 overs. In reply, Hyderabad were bowled out for 258 in 46.4 overs. Captain Stuart Binny took four wickets for 56 runs while another paceman SL Akshay too had four scalps for 50 runs.

In other matches of the day, Kerala beat Tamil Nadu by five wickets while hosts Goa were handed their fourth successive defeat by Andhra. Goa were bowled out for just 91 in pursuit of 262. KS Bharat struck century for Andhra.

After a rest day on Tuesday, the tournament will conclude on Wednesday. Karnataka are currently on top of the table with 16 points followed by Andhra and Kerala with 13 each.

Top two teams will qualify for all-India Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Brief Scores

Karnataka 305/9 in 50 overs (KL Rahul 110, Robin Uthappa 103, Manish Pandey 42, Ashish Reddy 3/88) beat Hyderabad 258 all out in 46.4 overs (Hanuma Vihari 84, B Sandeep 72, SL Akshay 4/50, Stuart Binny 4/56)

Tamil Nadu 257/7 in 47 overs (Dinesh Karthik 73, Yo Mahesh 40 n.o., Vijay Shankar 29, S Badrinath 28, S Sreesanth 2/83) lost to Kerala 258/5 in 46.3 overs (Sanju Viswanath 85 not out, Sachin Baby 61, VA Jagadeesh 35, KJ Rakesh 32, Rahil Shah 4/52)

Andhra 261/6 in 50 overs (KS Bharat 125, B Sumanth 45, DB Prashant Kumar 37) beat Goa 91 all out in 25.4 overs (B Sudhakar 3/10, KS Shahabuddin 3/16)


Story first published:  Monday, February 18, 2013, 18:02 [IST]
Write Comments