Vijay Hazare Trophy: Karnataka enter quarters

Published: Wednesday, February 27, 2013, 11:39 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Karnataka win

Visakhapatnam, Feb 27: Opener Lokesh Rahul struck an unbeaten century as Karnataka easily defeated Uttar Pradesh by seven wickets to enter the quarter-finals of the National One Day Championship for the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Tuesday (February 26).

Put into bat, UP managed only 194 in 45.2 overs with seamer HS Sharath taking three wickets and left-arm spinner KP Appanna chipping in with two wickets.

Karnataka reached the target in 32 overs with opener Rahul hitting an unbeaten 104 off 152 balls with six fours and three sixes. He added 119 runs for the third wicket with veteran Ganesh Satish (53).

Karnataka will take on defending champions Bengal in the quarterfinal slated on Thursday.

For UP, their reputed players like skipper Suresh Raina (13), veteran Mohammed Kaif (37), U-19 World Cup winner Akshdeep Nath (29) all got starts but couldn't convert it into big scores losing wickets at regular intervals.

Brief Scores: UP 194 all out in 45.2 overs (Mohammed Kaif 37, HS Sharath 3/46, KP Appanna 2/42) lost to Karnataka 197/3 in 32 overs (Lokesh Rahul 104 not out, G Satish 53).


Write Comments