Bengal thrash Karnataka to reach semis

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, February 28, 2013, 14:56 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bengal thrash Karnataka to reach semis

Visakhapatnam, Feb 28: Bengal crushed Karnataka by 10 wickets to enter semi-finals of Vijay Hazare Trophy 50-over tournament here on Thursday.

It Bengal bowlers who dazzled on the day as they skittled out Karnataka for a paltry 127 in 32.1 overs. Shami Ahmed and Veer Pratap Singh took three wickets each.

Bengal were never in doubt of chasing down this small total. They romped home to victory in 28.3 overs with both openers striking half centuries.

Shreevats Goswami was 70 not out while Wriddhiman Saha made unbeaten 52.

Earlier, Karnataka's top order was blown away by Bengal pacemen. The top three batsmen fell for single-digit scores.

By the 15th over, Karnataka were reeling at 57/6. Manish Pandey was the topscorer with 28 and he was one of the three to cross 20-run mark. Karun Nair made 22 while captain R Vinay Kumar had 20 runs to his name.

Brief Scores

Karnataka 127 all out in 32.1 overs (Manish Pandey 28, Karun Nair 22, R Vinay Kumar 20, Shami Ahmed 3/32, Veer Pratap Singh 3/40, Laxmi Ratan Shukla 2/20) lost to Bengal 128/0 in 28.3 overs (Shreevats Goswami 70 not out, Wriddhiman Saha 52 not out)


Write Comments