Mohali Test: First day's play washed out

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, March 14, 2013, 15:05 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mohali, Mar 14: There was no play possible on the first day of the third Test between India and Australia here at PCA Stadium on Thursday. Rain had the final say here with toss also not taking place.


It rained since 3am last night and left the ground damp. There was rain this morning as well and umpires had a couple of inspections. Ground staff were busy at work to get the ground ready but rain on and off made it impossible for a start. Play was called off for the day at 1pm.

Mohali Test: First day's play washed out

To make up lost time, from tomorrow, match will begin at 9AM daily.

India lead the four-match series 2-0.

Earlier update

Rain has delayed the start of the third Test between India and Australia at the PCA Stadium here on Thursday. The entire morning session was washed out. No play is possible till lunch break, 11.30 AM.

Umpires Richard Kettleborough and Aleem Dar had said (at 9.30AM) it would take a minimum of two hours to get the match started. They added that over the next four days, match will begin 30 minutes early, at 9AM.

The umpires had an inspection of the ground at 11 AM and will check the condition of the ground again at 12 noon.

Heavy rain since late last night have left the outfield damp. The square was covered and there are chances of being no play on the first day. However, Super Soppers were busy at work.

Australia, however, announced their Playing XI with Brad Haddin returning to the side in place of the injured Matthew Wade. Glenn Maxwell was dropped and Nathan Lyon came back.

Captain Michael Clarke is likely to bat at No. 3. Steve Smith was also named in the line-up. Australia had only 12 players to pick their team for this Test. Four players, Shane Watson, James Pattinson, Usman Khawaja and Mitchell Johnson were axed for breaching team orders.

Playing XIs

Australia: Michael Clarke (captain), David Warner, Ed Cowan, Phil Hughes, Steve Smith, Moises Henriques, Brad Haddin (wicketkeeper), Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Xavier Doherty.

India (yet to announce XI)


Story first published:  Thursday, March 14, 2013, 9:07 [IST]
Write Comments