No Sri Lankan players for IPL 6 in Chennai: Report

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, March 26, 2013, 18:05 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

No Sri Lankan players for IPL in Chennai

Chennai, Mar 26: Sri Lankan players will not be playing in IPL 6 matches in Chennai, according to a TV report on Tuesday evening.

A few hours after Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa wrote a letter to Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh saying they won't allow Sri Lankan players or officials in Chennai for IPL 6, "Times Now" TV said the IPL Governing Council had decided that teams will play matches at M Chidambaram Stadium without Sri Lankans.

The TV report quoted IPL sources as saying that they had agreed on the decision and an official announcement would be done in a "short while."

Street protests have taken place in Tamil Nadu to denounce the Sri Lankan government for the killings of Tamil civilians in the war against the Tamil Tigers in the island country.

On Monday, however, BCCI president N Srinivasan had said there was no threat for Sri Lankan players.

"These are operational matters. I don't want to get into this issue. The IMG (event manager) and the IPL will look at it and decide. The government of Tamil Nadu is capable of handling law and order situation. I feel these issues will get sorted out," Srinivasan told IANS.

Here is the list of Sri Lankan players who will not be playing in IPL 6 in Chennai

Akila Dananjaya and Nuwan Kulasekara (Chennai Super Kings)

Jeevan Mendis and Mahela Jayawardene (Delhi Daredevils)

Sachithra Senanayake (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians)

Ajantha Mendis and Angelo Mathews (Pune Warriors)

Kusal Janith Perera (Rajasthan Royals)

Muttiah Muralitharan and Tillakaratne Dilshan (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Kumar Sangakkara and Thisara Perera (Sunrisers Hyderabad)


Story first published:  Tuesday, March 26, 2013, 17:53 [IST]
Write Comments