TN government not to allow Sri Lankans in IPL 6

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, March 26, 2013, 15:16 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

TN govt not to allow Lankans in IPL 6

Chennai, Mar 26: There are doubts over the participation of Sri Lankan players in the sixth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 6) with the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister writing a letter to Indian Prime Minister saying they will not to allow them to participate in the Twenty20 tournament.

According to media reports on Tuesday afternoon, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa has asked Prime Minister Manmohan Singh not to allow Sri Lanka players, umpires and other officials to take part in IPL matches to be held in Chennai.

"In such a hostile and tense environment, we apprehend that the participation of Sri Lankan players in the IPL tournament, with many games to be played in Chennai, will aggravate an already surcharged atmosphere and further offend the sentiments of the people," the letter says as quoted by NDTV.

IPL 6 will get under way on April 3 and Chennai will host 10 matches. There are 12 Sri Lankan players for the tournament.

Street protests have taken place in Tamil Nadu to denounce the Sri Lankan government for the killings of Tamil civilians in the war against the Tamil Tigers in the island country.

On Monday, however, BCCI president N Srinivasan had said there was no threat for Sri Lankan players.

"These are operational matters. I don't want to get into this issue. The IMG (event manager) and the IPL will look at it and decide. The government of Tamil Nadu is capable of handling law and order situation. I feel these issues will get sorted out," Srinivasan told IANS.

Akila Dananjaya and Nuwan Kulasekara will play for Chennai Super Kings; Jeevan Mendis and Mahela Jayawardene for Delhi Daredevils; Sachithra Senanayake plays for Kolkata Knight Riders; Lasith Malinga is with Mumbai Indians; Ajantha Mendis and Angelo Mathews are in Pune Warriors; Rajasthan Royals have Kusal Janith Perera; Royal Challengers have Muttiah Muralitharan and Tillakaratne Dilshan; and Sunrisers Hyderabad have Kumar Sangakkara and Thisara Perera.

Jayawardene will be leading Daredevils and Sangakkara is likely to be in charge of Sunrisers.


Story first published:  Tuesday, March 26, 2013, 15:02 [IST]
Write Comments