IPL 2013 Match 8 Highlights: RR Vs KKR

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, April 9, 2013, 12:57 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Jaipur, Apr 8: The trend of low scores continued in IPL 2013 and in the latest contest, Rajasthan Royals upset defending champions Kolkata Knight Riders by 19 runs at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium on Monday night.


After posting 144, Rajasthan successfully defended the score to come on top by 19 runs. KKR were bowled out for 125 in 19 overs. Eoin Morgan carried KKR's hopes with a fifty but his dismissal in the 19th over as the ninth batsman sealed their fate. Kevon Cooper was the bowling star for Rajasthan with 3/15 in 4 overs.

IPL 2013 Match 8 Highlights: RR Vs KKR

Here are the highlights

# This was Rajasthan's second straight win after defeating Delhi Daredevils in the opener

# Rajasthan are on top of the table now with 4 points

# It was a greenish pitch suited for fast bowlers and Rajasthan packed their side with five pacers and no spinner

# This was the first match of the season for Rajasthan in Jaipur. And with today's victory, they boast a record of winning all their first games of IPL here in all editions

# Tait bowled the fastest ball of IPL 6, which was clocked at 150.19 kmph (dot ball) to Gautam Gambhir. He bowled one more delivery in his spell which was at 150.14

# Rajasthan posted 144/6 in 20 overs

# KKR were bowled out for 125 in 19 overs

# Kevon Cooper was excellent with the ball taking 3/15 in 4 overs

# Eoin Morgan was the top scorer for KKR with 51 off 38 balls with three fours and three sixes

# Rajasthan had five fast bowlers in the Playing XI today

# All 19 overs from Rajasthan were bowled by pacemen

# All five bowlers had success

# Siddharth Trivedi had 3/23, Shaun Tait 1/29, S Sreesanth 1/25 and Rahul Shukla 2/28

# Rajasthan scored 2 sixes while KKR had 4

# Rajasthan had 17 fours. KKR scored 8 boundaries

# Shukla took two wickets in one over (third of the innings) where he dismissed Manvinder Bisla and Jacques Kallis for a 1-ball duck

# RR were 35/1 in first six overs of powerplay. 50 came in 9 overs then 100 in 15

# KKR were 40/2 in 6 overs. Then they reached 50 in 52 balls, 100 in 92 deliveries

# For KKR, Sunil Narine took two wickets while Brett Lee, Rajat Bhatia and Laxmi Ratan Shukla had one each

# During today's innings, KKR's Manoj Tiwary completed 1,000 runs in IPL


Story first published:  Monday, April 8, 2013, 23:41 [IST]
Write Comments