Australia name Champions Trophy squad

Posted by:
Published: Wednesday, May 1, 2013, 12:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Australia name Champions Trophy squad

Melbourne, May 1: Australia have appointed George Bailey as the team's vice-captain for the Champions Trophy 2013. Bailey replaces Shane Watson, who resigned from the role recently. The 15-man squad will be captained by Michael Clarke.

Champions Trophy Schedule

Australia are the holders of Champions Trophy. They had won the tournament in 2009. This year's edition which will be the last, will be held in England from June 6 to 23.

The squad includes uncapped Nathan Coulter-Nile while young all-rounder Mitchell Marsh has been recalled. Watson is also in the squad which was announced on Wednesday.

Commentating on the squad, CA National Selector John Inverarity said: "The NSP has selected a well-balanced squad of 15 players under the leadership of Michael Clarke which it believes can continue Australia's outstanding record at the ICC Champions Trophy."

"George Bailey has been appointed vice-captain of the squad to replace Shane Watson. The NSP has been impressed with George's leadership when he stepped in to guide the ODI team in Michael's absence last summer and leadership of the T20 team over the past two seasons. Given George's experience and credentials, he was viewed as the ideal person for the role."

On the Champions Trophy, he said: "The ICC Champions Trophy is another important step in our aim to get back to the number one ranking. As the two-time defending champion, the squad has been selected with the aim of winning the tournament, starting against England at Edgbaston on 8 June, while also keeping the 2015 ICC World Cup firmly in mind."

Australia are in Group with England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka. Australia's first game is against England at Edgbaston on June 8.

Australia squad: Michael Clarke (captain), George Bailey (vice-captain), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Phillip Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Clint McKay, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson.

Previous Winners of Champions Trophy

1998 South Africa

2000 New Zealand

2002 India/Sri Lanka

2004 West Indies

2006 Australia

2009 Australia


Write Comments