IPL 2013 Qualifier 2 Highlights: MI Vs RR

Posted by:
Updated: Saturday, May 25, 2013, 1:41 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kolkata, May 24: Mumbai Indians reached the final of IPL 2013 after yet another last-over thrilling finish. Harbhajan Singh hit a boundary off the penultimate ball to seal a four-wicket win over Rajasthan Royals in Qualifier 2 here at Eden Gardens early on Saturday (match ended at 12.40AM).


MI were set a target of 166 by RR and after mid-innings slump, Ambati Rayudu and Harbhajan steered the team home in a tense finish. Opener Dwayne Smith was the top scorer for MI with 62.

Earlier, RR posted 165/6 in 20 overs. Rahul Dravid played a good knock as an opener while the finishing touches were applied by Dishant Yagnik with a breezy 17-ball 31 not out. Captain Dravid scored 43.

IPL 2013 Qualifier 2 Highlights: MI-RR

Here are the highlights

# MI entered their second IPL final

# MI will face Chennai Super Kings in final at Eden Gardens

# The title clas at Eden Gardens will a repeat of 2010 final where CSK had won by 22 runs in Mumbai

# Dwayne Smith top scored for MI with 62 off 44 with 6 fours and 2 sixes

# Aditya Tare scored 35 off 27 with 3 fours and 2 sixes

# Smith and Tare had an opening wicket partnership of 70 in 9.1 overs

# From 70/1, MI were in a spot of bother at 141/5 in 17.3 overs

# MI needed 23 off 12 balls and in the final over it was 8 to win

# The final over was bowled by Shane Watson. He bowled Ambati Rayudu off the second ball

# Harbhajan Singh hit a boundary off the penultimate ball to win it

# MI hit 15 fours and 6 sixes

# James Faulkner reclaimed the Purple Cap from Dwayne Bravo. Both have 28 wickets but Faulkner is on top with better economy rate

# RR scored 165/6 in 20 overs

# RR were 42/0 in 6 overs. 50 came in 47 balls

# RR were 65/3 in 10 overs

# RR hit 22 fours and 1 six

# Harbhajan Singh took 3/23 in 4 overs

# Harbhajan had a hand in first 5 RR dismissals. He took 3 wickets and 2 catches

# Kieron Pollard bowled 1 over and took two wickets

# Captain Rahul Dravid made 43 off 37 with 7 fours

# Dishant Yagnik scored 31 not out off 17 with 5 fours

# Brad Hodge was 19 not out off 20 with 2 fours

# Hodge-Yagnik unfinished partnership for 7th wicket was worth 53 off just 4.3 overs

# After a good start, RR lost their way to be 87/4 in 12.1 overs

# In 15 overs, RR had reached 104/4

# In final 5 overs, RR scored 61

# In last 10 overs, they scored exactly 100

# Last over bowled by Lasith Malinga cost 18 runs

# Malinga went for 1/43 in 4 overs

# The match was delayed due to rain by 1 hour and 7 minutes

# Match started at 9.07PM. Toss took place at 8.30PM

# Sachin Tendulkar missed out again as he had not recovered from wrist injury

# MI made 1 change, bringing in Rishi Dhawan for Munaf Patel

# RR remained unchanged


Story first published:  Friday, May 24, 2013, 23:02 [IST]
Write Comments