How N Srinivasan can be impeached?

Posted by:
Updated: Saturday, May 25, 2013, 18:09 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

How N Srinivasan can be impeached?

Mumbai, May 26: With BCCI president N Srinivasan stating that he will not step down, the only option left for the members of Indian cricket board is impeachment.

Srinivasan said he cannot be "bulldozed" into resigning after the controversy of IPL betting broke out involving his son-in-law Gurunth Meiyappan.

In such a scenario, if the members want to remove the president, only option is impeachment.

With 30 members in BCCI, anyone can call for an emergency meeting for impeachment of the president, according to reports. However, former BCCI secretary Jaywant Lele clarified that at least 9 members need to sign a memorandum and ask the secretary to convene an emergency meeting.

Speaking to NDTV, Lele said only way to remove Srinivasan was through this meeting where 2/3 votes should be against the president. Lele, who said knows Srinivasan since 1998, described him as "simple and straightforward."

Once the meeting is called, the resolution for impeachment needs to be passed. Then it will be put to vote. To remove the president 2/3 of the votes (20 out of 30) need to be against him. As of now, 9 of the 30 members are backing Srinivasan while 6 are opposed. 3 are government bodies while others are still not decided, according to reports.

Srinivasan said that most of the members are still supporting him. If his claims are to believed even the resolution might fail.

In the history of BCCI, no president has been impeached.

Here are the 30 members of BCCI

North Zone: Delhi and District Cricket Association, Services Sports Control Board, Punjab CA, Jammu and Kashmir CA, Haryana CA, Himachal Pradesh, All India Universities

South Zone: Tamil Nadu CA, Karnataka State CA, Andhra CA, Hyderabad CA, Kerala CA, Goa CA

East Zone: CA of Bengal, Tripura CA, Jharkhand State CA, Assam CA, Orissa CA, National Cricket Club

West Zone: Mumbai CA, Maharashtra CA, Baroda CA, Gujarat CA, Saurashtra CA, Cricket Club of India

Central Zone: Uttar Pradesh CA, Madhya Pradesh CA, Rajasthan CA, Vidarbha CA, Railways Sports Promotion Board


Story first published:  Saturday, May 25, 2013, 15:47 [IST]
Write Comments