IPL 2013 Final Highlights: CSK Vs MI in Kolkata

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, May 27, 2013, 15:52 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kolkata, May 26: It was a night to remember for Mumbai Indians at the Eden Gardens on Sunday. MI were crowned the IPL 2013 champions after defeating two-time winners Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs in the final.

Sachin refuses to receive trophy from Srinivan?; Scorecard; Over-by-over runs; MI's route to the trophy; Photos

Chasing a target of 149, CSK were off to a disastrous start losing two wicket in as many balls in Lasith Malinga's opening over. Poor shot selection from CSK batsmen led to their downfall.

IPL 2013 Final Highlights: CSK Vs MI

With the innings in tatters at 58/8 in 11.3 overs, the match was virtually over. Captain MS Dhoni (63 not out) fought a losing battle in the end but his big hits were not enough. CSK were kept to 125/9 in 20 overs.

Earlier, Kieron Pollard's 32-ball 60 not out helped Mumbai Indians to 148/9 in 20 overs

It was a shaky start for MI but Pollard's hurricane innings towards the end ensured they had a good score.

Dwayne Bravo picked up the Purple Cap with four wickets tonight. He finished the tournament with 32 wickets, most by a bowler in a single IPL. Michael Hussey was the Orange Cap winner with 733 runs.

Here are the highlights

# This was MI's first IPL trophy. They had lost to CSK by 22 runs in 2010 final

# CSK have now lost 3 finals (2008, 2012, 2013)

# CSK are two-time champions (2010, 2011)

# Sachin Tendulkar retired from IPL after this game

# Lasith Malinga was given the ball to open the bowling and he struck twice in successive deliveries. He dismissed Michael Hussey (1) and Suresh Raina

# MS Dhoni was the highest individual score in the match - 63 not out off 45 balls with 3 fours and 5 sixes

# Malinga had 2/22 in 4 overs

# Mitchell Johnson took two wickets for 19 in 4 overs

# Harbhajan Singh had 2/14 in 3 overs

# S Badrinath played out Malinga's hat-trick ball

# At the end of 1 over, CSK were 2/2. Then it became 3/3 in the second over

# At the end of 6 overs, CSK were reeling at 35/4. By the 7th over, it became 38/5 and further worsened to 39/6

# Raina, Badrinath, Ravindra Jadeja and Chris Morris were out for ducks

# Hussey finished the tournament with 733 runs (17 innings) to win the Orange Cap. 733 is the joint highest for a batsman in single IPL. Chris Gayle too had scored same number of runs in 2012

# CSK took both Orange and Purple Cap (Dwayne Bravo 32 wickets) honours

# Murali Vijay was dropped on 14 by Dinesh Karthik

# MI won the toss and chose to bat first

# Tendulkar missed out again

# Both teams remained unchanged from last games

# Dwayne Smith hit a boundary off the third ball in the first over but was trapped LBW next delivery by Mohit Sharma

# Mohit opened the bowling for CSK. He bowled his 4 overs on the trot. He had figures of 1/26

# Aditya Tare was bowled for a golden duck by Albie Morkel on the first ball of the second over

# MI were in early trouble at 16/3 in 3.2 overs

# After 6 overs, MI were 34/3. 50 came in 54 balls

# In 10 overs, MI were 58/4

# At the end of 15 overs, MI had reached 100/4

# Kieron Pollard completed 1,000 runs in IPL when he hit a four off the first ball he faced. He came into this match with 999 runs

# Dwayne Bravo won the Purple Cap with 32 wickets in 18 matches.

# Bravo is the first bowler to take 32 in a single IPL

# Bravo finished with 4/42 in 4 overs

# Pollard was the top scorer for MI with 60 not out off 32 balls. He hit 2 successive sixes off Bravo to finish the innings

# Overall MI scored 18 fours and 3 sixes


Story first published:  Sunday, May 26, 2013, 21:52 [IST]
Write Comments