The A to Z of IPL 2013

Posted by:
Published: Monday, May 27, 2013, 11:50 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kolkata, May 27: IPL 2013 will be better remembered for off-field controversies than on-field exploits of players. Mumbai Indians won the IPL trophy but the tournament might have lost millions of fans.

Photos from the final

Here, we have listed out A to Z of IPL 2013

A - Ajit Chandila. The Rajasthan Royals player brought shame to the IPL league for his alleged involvement in spot-fixing during this edition

The A to Z of IPL 2013

B - Bad boys of IPL 6. Some villains of the game sullied the image of IPL for money with spot-fixing allegations.

C - Chennai Super Kings and Commentators. The CSK franchise made the news for the right reasons on the field and off the field, controversy followed them. Commentators with Set Max, the official broadcaster, kept mum on spot-fixing as if to suggest everything was fine with league.

D - Dwayne Bravo and David Miller. The CSK bowler had a wonderful tournament as a bowler taking the Purple Cap with 32, wickets, a record in single IPL. South African left-hander David Miller showed the world what a talent he is. Playing for Kings XI Punjab, Miller was outstanding. He hit a century too.

E - Extra Innings. The pre-match show on Set Max TV channel that was under the spotlight for not discussing the raging issue - spot-fixing.

F - Fans. The Indian cricket fans were let down by all the controversies in IPL.

G - Gurunath Meiyappan. Tthe 'honorary member' of CSK who was arrested by police for allegedly betting on IPL matches. Meiyappan, who was 'owner' and then India Cements said he was 'neither owner nor CEO or Team Principal.'

H - Hundreds and Highest individual score. Chris Gayle smashed the fastest hundred in cricket history, in just 30 balls. On way to 175 not out he eclipsed several records. 175 not out is the highest score in IPL history. There were 4 centuries in this edition (Shane Watson, Gayle, Suresh Raina and Miller).

I - Indians. Barring a few Indian players who made a mark, it was not a good tournament for the locals. Most of the spotlight was on foreigners.

J - James Faulkner. The Australian left-arm paceman, who played for Rajasthan Royals, was outstanding in the tournament. He took two five-wicket hauls, a first in IPL history. He finished with 28 wickets and held the Purple Cap.

K - Kolkata Knight Riders. The defending champions were disappointing this year. They failed to make the top-four.

L - Loss. IPL's image took a beating with controversies. A huge loss which will take a lot of time to repair.

M - Mumbai Indians and Michael Hussey. MI ended their wait to get their hands on the trophy while CSK's Hussey had to be satisfied just with the Orange Cap.

N - No-ball. Royal Challengers Bangalore's RP Singh bowled probably the most famous no-ball in IPL against CSK. His last-ball error gave CSK the victory when 2 runs were needed. Ravindra Jadeja was caught off that delivery but did not count.

O - Orange Cap curse. In 6 years of IPL, no Orange Cap holder has gone on to win the title. The curse remained that way.

P - Police. One would wonder how police get into this list. But Mumbai and Delhi cops made more news by making arrests in connection with spot-fixing and betting.

Q - Questions. For all the fans who watched the IPL, plenty of questions still remained on spot-fixing and other issues. Hope they get the answers soon.

R - Rahul Dravid. The Rajasthan Royals captain, amid controversy, kept his flock together and took the playoffs. Dravid, in his last IPL, showed his class yet again. He lead the team to third place and into Champions League T20, which will be his last tournament as a professional player.

S - Spot-fixing, S Sreesanth, Son-in-law (read Gurunath Meiyappan) and Sunrisers Hyderabad. The first three for wrong reasons and SRH for right ones. India paceman was arrested by police along with Chandila and Ankeet Chavan for their alleged role in spot-fixing. Sunrisers surprised everyone by reaching the playoffs.

T - Time-out. Many felt two strategic time-outs of 2 and half minutes in each innings, were disadvantage for players. Also there were speculations that these time-outs helped bookies.

U - Umpires. There were good decisions and the bad ones too. Indian umpires had an average tournament. Umpire Asad Rauf came under the scanner of police for alleged links with bookies.

V - Victory. Mumbai Indians will cherish this title victory for a long time. And more for one man - Sachin Tendulkar, who retired from IPL on a high.

W - West Indies. Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Kevon Cooper, Sunil Narine and the list goes on. It was truly a tournament to remember for West Indies players.

X - X-factor. There were players with x-factor during the tournament.

Y - Youngsters. IPL certainly threw up young talent to the fore. Sanju Samson won the Young Player of the tournament award. There were few others who impressed - Mandeep Singh, Mohit Sharma, Hanuma Vihari and Karan Sharma.

Z - Zoozoo. The zoozoo characters were back with the IPL on TV. This time there was also a musical video which became an instant hit.


Write Comments