IPL 2013: 'Best XI' of the tournament

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, May 28, 2013, 13:36 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, May 28: There were several outstanding individual performances in IPL 2013 that concluded on Sunday night (May 26) at the Eden Gardens. Mumbai Indians won their maiden title by defeating two-time champions Chennai Super Kings.

Now, it is time to pick the "Best XI" of IPL 2013. There are few names which would be the first to be penned down. But some of the other players miss out narrowly. Throughout the tournament, we were witness to exceptional batting displays - highlighted by Chris Gayle's world record 175 not out. And in bowling, Rajasthan Royals' James Faulkner stood out with two five-wicket hauls, a first in IPL history.

Chris Gayle as opener

RCB's Chris Gayle as opener

Michael Hussey will partner Gayle

CSK's Michael Hussey (Orange Cap winner) will partner Gayle

RCB captain Virat Kohli at 3

RCB captain Virat Kohli at 3

Suresh Raina at No. 4

CSK's Suresh Raina hit a century during IPL 2013.

Rohit Sharma scored more than 500 runs. He is at No. 5

MI captain Rohit Sharma excelled with the bat.

MS Dhoni, the captain, at 6

MS Dhoni, the finisher.

Purple Cap winner Dwayne Bravo. He is at No. 7

Dwayne Bravo, Purple Cap winner with 32 wickets.

Harbhajan Singh

Harbhajan Singh had a good tournament with the ball. He is at No. 8

James Faulkner, No. 9

Australian left-arm paceman James Faulkner took 2 five-wicket hauls in the tournament, a first in IPL history.

Amit Mishra, No. 10

Amit Mishra took a hat-trick during the tournament

Mohit Sharma makes up the 11

Playing his first IPL, Mohit Sharma was impressive.

Here is Thatscricket's "Best XI" of IPL 2013 (in batting order, 4 overseas players only)

1. Chris Gayle (RCB) 708 runs in 16 innings

2. Michael Hussey (CSK) 733 in 17 innings

3. Virat Kohli (RCB) 634 in 16 innings

4. Suresh Raina (CSK) 548 in 17 innings

5. Rohit Sharma (MI) 538 in 19 innings

6. MS Dhoni (CSK, captain) 461 in 16 innings

7. Dwayne Bravo (CSK) 32 wickets in 18 innings

8. Harbhajan Singh (MI) 24 wickets in 19 innings

9. James Faulkner (RR) 28 wickets in 16 innings

10. Amit Mishra (SRH) 21 wickets in 17 innings

11. Mohit Sharma (CSK) 20 wickets in 15 innings


Story first published:  Tuesday, May 28, 2013, 12:34 [IST]
Write Comments